the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Submitted for Your Amusement 333

01.09.2004

4:53 pm

Despite the mention by people here and there of the recent unpleasantness of d-land (which in my case means not knowing if my supergold is really there or not, so I paid for another three months even though I don't think I was due to), I'm not at all interested in leaving d-land for other pastures, be they green, cyan, or some other hexadecimal code. I saw mention in another diary of a site called scribblejournal, but I didn't see enough there to give me a sense of anything.

This raises two issues for me: R -- remember, getting a master's degree in creative writing -- has always had just a touch of a snobbish edge when it comes to my diary writing. She agrees that it's writing and if I like it, it's good for me, but I always heard the faintest hint of it's not really writing. I've been letting that pass. I've been telling her all along that it is a fascinating experience on all kinds of levels.

Yesterday she tells me that she just started a d-land diary. Well, I'm just tickled. It's not for me to read; I don't want to. But I'm feeling bemusedly validated, the way a mom does when her kid has an "Ahh!" moment and realizes that mom's not a moron after all.

Here's the second issue. I am thinking about starting another diary, maybe on scribblejournal, maybe not, that would pretty much be the same as this one, maybe with some of the entries edited a bit, for family viewing. Perhaps a simpler template. The only thing stopping me just now is that I can't think of a username/diaryname for it. Which has been making me think more about the one I chose for this diary.

Clearly, purple chai didn't come to me until I was working on the template a few days down the road; I knew I wanted the chai in there, so my username is chailife, since chai means life. It should have been purple chai. Which has really become a secret identity for me, an alter ego. When I leave messages in notes or guestbooks, I sign them purple chai, or chai. It feels like me. It feels like my real name in diaryland, and perfectly natural to sign that way. I like being the purple chai.

So how can I be anyone else? I can't use the same name for a family diary; the distinction from this one is the whole point. Who else am I? Who else would I like to be?

I've got a weird little nickname I use here in the house, based on a silly thing K wrote about me in first grade, but it wouldn't mean anything to my sister, her kids, friends. So that's out. Anyway, I use it as a password for all kinds of stuff, so that's pointless.

My sister called me a nickname when I was a baby: Bushy. She said my hair stuck up on my head like a bush. But I don't want to be called Bushy. That's what I call the enemy and his cohorts: the Bushies. Out.

My real name of course is out, since that sucks. I could register a domain name, like www.oldbag.com; that would be nice and descriptive.

Thinking, thinking ... I'll come up with something.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here