the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

So far ... okay 336

01.12.2004

7:58 pm

It�s not a whiz-bang skyrockets kind of day, but it�s okay. But wow, thanks for all the birthday wishes! So many new diaries to take a look at ! Who knew?

Turns out mousse is so much better for my non-hair than sculpting paste, so I do look somewhat like a middle-aged female human today, which is really all I�m going for. And my eyes are bothering me a whole lot less, which is only natural, since I made an appointment to see the ophthalmologist this afternoon. No gory details here, but there's nothing seriously wrong, which is good, but he did suggest that I have the surgeon take another look at my right eye and drop the lid a little more. Cosmetically, this makes me happy, but he says I need it to prevent corneal damage, so now I've got an actual medical reason to go have it done. When all the other old bags around me are having eyelifts, I'm having mine lowered. What can I say? My left eye looks like it should, which is to say, like my mother's eyes. I think my right eye oughta match, no?

I had three nice classes in today, all doing research on American poets. And they seemed interested in what they�re doing, and asked wonderful questions. My favorite of the day ... and of the school year, so far ... is "Can you help me find more background about the literary period in which Longfellow wrote?" Folks, I do not get questions like that every day. If only.

And the meeting with the Psycho over the upcoming GSA workshop went pretty well. Of course, there was no predicting. She seems to think, all of a sudden, that our in-servicing the staff to deal with homophobic remarks and hate speech is a good thing. She even suggested that coaches not be allowed to leave early and get out of the workshop. I almost fell off my chair.

And what else? Colleague suggested that if the trip with my sister falls through in February, I join K on her trip in March. This has serious promise. She wouldn�t have to go alone, which makes her uncomfortable, she would want to see London too and maybe R could join us there, K wouldn�t be alone during the day in Cardiff while R is in class, and best of all, I would still get to go. I don�t want to horn in on their personal time together, but I�d give them space. I�d still stay in a hotel and K could be in the dorm with R at night so they could go out and do whatever. This possibility of not going has been bumming me out a lot this week. So maybe it�s looking up.

And then there�s Bosch. Last week one day at school, I tried to explain to Colleague what the place reminded me of. "It�s that painting, by Bosch" I said, but I couldn�t remember the name. "The one that shows all the horrors and degradations of hell." She wasn�t familiar with it, and I couldn't remember the title. Of course, I could have looked it up, but I forgot. Later at home, the Hubs couldn't think of it either, and I wasn�t going to the Internet when I knew it was in the art encyclopedia waiting at my desk to be cataloged. But then Sibs remembered: The Garden of Earthly Delights. So, for some reason, Hubs gave me as a birthday gift this morning a big coffee table book ... we don�t have a coffee table ... of this painting. That and a giant tote bag, which was really a freebie from his new job and he was going to give me anyway. I like the tote bag. But the book is a little odd, I�m thinking.

Over for another year.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching DeGrassi
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here