the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

What country is this again? 337

01.13.2004

7:48 pm

Let me just make sure I've got this straight:

George Bush et al. want to investigate the background of every single American who boards a plane, but not people who buy guns? What if someone who wants to buy a gun also wants to get on a plane? Does he just get a free pass, no investigation because he's a gun owner?

When I pointed this out to the SCM earlier today, and posed the question in the title of today's entry, he answered with nary a pause "Spain. 1938."

I'm just saying. Perhaps the investigation of gun owners is indeed wrong. If so, how does anyone justify investigating little old ladies on their way to Boca?

So we had a weather event of biblical proportions today, when, following about an hour of bright sunlight (and freezing wind), the sky turned black, there was thunder and lightning in January, and then, as if a cloud had broken open and its contents spilled out, there was immediate swirling, blinding, white-out snow everywhere. For five minutes. Followed twenty minute later by bright sunshine.

Hmm. And in other news, with a blizzard perhaps on its way within the next few days, R is on her way back to the U.K. Thursday night. So if the snow would hold off until about ten on Thursday, I'd appreciate it, thank you, or else be done and gone before that. Please.

Speaking of the U.K., the Sibs has finally acknowledged that she is not physically up to the trip. I knew that. She couldn't admit it until today. Tomorrow, I hope, I'll see if K is interested in me joining her when she goes in March.

And what's more ... okay, I lied, that's it.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching E.T.
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here