the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Feeding Back 343

01.19.2004

6:14 pm

Really now, what in the world is better than positive feedback?

Does that sound too teachery, too parenty? Or just too human beingy? Anyway, thanks again to pinknvinegar for making me very smiley. As soon as I can get to it, I'm putting one of those imood thingies up, and my first face is going to have to be a smiley one, just for her.

Feedback glitches (as in the guestbooks weren't working again Sunday night) mean that messages I left for folk that didn't go through are here. To whit:

For LA: There's just something about the place names in New Jersey that make people laugh. Lucky me, I get to live in New Jersey and be a librarian, which is joke fodder for every comedian who's ever lived. As for malls, you might try Rt 59 in Nanuet; they're not as nice as Paramus but not as far (and not in New Jersey, by the by). Also the Palisades Mall, if you can stand something that big. I know my malls.

For l-empress: I used to work with someone, now retired, who was Orthodox, and yet who voted to keep the blue laws every time it came up on the ballot. I asked him once if his wife, who worked, wouldn't enjoy the opportunity to shop on Sunday. His answer was "Exactly."

for cosmicrayola: Short hair is the best! Mine is shorter than yours! (Or now that I'm looking again, maybe it's just the same as yours.) I don't even use a comb, just pull my wet hair into place with my fingers and it's dry in five minutes. Love it!


And now I present Monday.

After having an argument via email last night with the SCM, who wasn't coming in to school today anyway so that was dirty pool, I went in with a horrible sniffly cold, dumped on the Colleague who was nice enough not to tell me to shut up, and then ditched the third installment of the Ill Conceived In Service That Never Ends. But first, a nice lunch with Chum and E (can't tell the players without a scorecard, hint hint) where I had perhaps the best pizza ever. White pizza with tomatoes and basil, I think. I asked them to hold the garlic because I don't digest garlic so well, and I was going for my physical in the afternoon (hence the excuse for ditching the In Service) and how nice is that for the doctor? So in my stuffiness, I actually did not detect the garlic until about an hour later when I blew my nose and ... well, that's enough. That's more than enough. Who knew you could even smell garlic on your own breath that way?

In between school/lunch and the physical (I'm fine for an old bag), I squeezed in a Kohl's adventure. All I wanted was a lousy tote bag, okay two, one for me and one to match K's suitcase that she just got over Christmas break. On sale, they were on sale, I tell you! It was in the circular! Did they ring up correctly? Uh, no. Was one of them in the wrong place in the luggage department, so not $9.99 like the sign said? Uh, yeah. Did one of them not have a tag, causing the cashier, about to go on her break, to go into an apoplexy instead? Certainly.

There was an elderly couple on line behind me who were the soul of patience and lovliness. The lady, in fact, attempted to comfort the cashier by saying, and not in a sappy way, "Well, patience is a virtue." I smiled and looked around at the other customers as if to say "Aren't these old people sweet?" I didn't say it out loud, of course. Later, after my adventure was over, including a return trip to the luggage department to straighten things out, and I was in the car, I thought "Crap! Those other people on line probably think I'm one of the elderly, too, or just about." This was a sobering thought. These people were 80 if they were a minute. Hey, I don't look 80. But I think I'm going to have to come to terms with the fact that I probably do look 50. Even though five minutes ago, I swear I looked like a kid.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching King of Queens
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here