the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Visit Scenic New Jersey 342

01.18.2004

10:29 am

I can't help but get the feeling that Iowa gets to decide tomorrow who our next president will be. Or is that just the way the media makes it look? Is this that big a deal, the Iowa caucuses? If so, and this outcome pretty much determines who the democratic candidate will be, then it pretty much predicts who our president will be. Here in New Jersey, we have our primary in July, by which time it's absolutely pointless. Most candidates by then have the number of votes they need to win the nomination, based on all the other primaries. I'm feeling rather disenfranchised at the moment. The Hubs, who enjoys a good conspiracy theory, says he's expecting the esteemed prez to declare martial law days before the election in November and suspend it anyway. Well. How frightened did you want to be today?

I've got three doctors coming up in the next two days, but no unpleasant procedures, like inkdragon's facing. A physical tomorrow, and Tuesday a consultation with the eye surgeon about getting that eyelid lowered. The big one, really, is the dentist after school on Tuesday. I have somehow become one of those people with ongoing dental problems that seem never-ending. Certainly this toothache is never-ending. It's not just the same as it was since July; it mutates, but it never goes away. Now I'm thinking the tooth is cracked under the new crown. I wish I could just check in somewhere for a day or two and have someone take care of the whole thing. I can't stand the thought of three or four visits to fix each tooth, and I still don't know how many need work. Damn. How much worse could it be for them to pull out a few and put in a bridge or something?

And I've got a cold again. Crap. Good thing I don't have anyplace to go today. The weather outside is what they euphemistically call "a wintry mix". This means that what's falling from the sky is white and wet and changes every twenty minutes or so. It's heavy to shovel and slippery to walk on and freezes solid as soon as it gets dark. And I was thinking of a run out to Target's or Kohl's this morning.

As I've mentioned before, I live smack in the middle of the shopping paradise of the universe. There are so many malls within a short distance that Wal-Mart didn't even attempt a presence here until about a year ago. I live very close to Paramus, which sometimes appears in movies and TV shows as the butt of a joke because there are so many malls there, five, I think. And that's just one town in Bergen County. The funny thing is that we also have "Blue Laws" here (I don't know if they're called that anyplace else), which means that by county law, all stores in Bergen County are closed on Sunday except for supermarkets, drug stores, and restaraunts. So on Sunday, going to a mall or even Kohl's or Target takes a fifteen minute drive west on Route 80 into Passaic County, where everything is open, and where there are plenty of malls, too. Bergen County is the only one in NJ with blue laws. What a pain in the ass. What, are we better than every other county because we observe the Christian Sabbath? What about the sizeable Orthodox Jewish population here? Maybe they'd like the stores closed on Saturday and open on Sunday? I'm just saying. In fact, it's a law that Paramus votes heavily to keep on the books because they'd like a day off from all the traffic and congestion. Fine, but maybe they shouldn't have zoned for all those malls in the first place, then. The only good thing about it is that when my kids have had store jobs, they knew they'd never have to work on Sunday, so they could make plans for at least one good day off a week. As for me, I'm so spoiled that I'd rather not drive the fifteen minutes to get to Kohl's or Barnes and Noble on a Sunday; I want to go to the ones that are only five minutes away instead. For all of you out in America where a mall is a day trip, I'm sorry I said anything.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Carol Burnett Marathon
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here