the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Now I'm Cooking with Beans 345

01.21.2004

7:10 pm

I'll be cooking with gas later on.

There is a great deal of amusing irony in that I've finally begun to cook meals now that I'm 51 years old. Also that I can barely chew today thanks to Mr. Root Canal. Anyway, I saw a recipe in, of all things, Vegetarian Times, in school today, for black bean soup. It was really more like stew, but the amazing things here are that a) it was really good and gb) Hubs actually ate some. My husband ate food that I cooked. Other than the vegan pumpkin pie that I make every Thanksgiving, I think this last happened sometime in the early eighties.



I'm taking a moment here to say goodbye to Phyllis, who was a secretary at my school for many many years until she retired, maybe eight years ago, who passed away on Monday. Imagine every wise-cracking, coarse-mouthed stereotyped secretary from 1940s B movies, and there she was. She also had a way of sometimes screwing things up -- most famously the school's yearly activities calender -- beyond the ability of anyone else to screw up. But mostly, she was bright and funny and did her job, as well as that of the administrator she worked for, since he was incompetent anywhere off the football field, and everyone knew that it was really Phyllis who did his job. She was my mother-of-two-girls guru, always giving me essential tips, like telling me to dress them in matching pajamas on Christmas Eve so they'd look cute in the pictures I took on Christmas morning. Always worked. And she raised her girls just fine; one of her daughters became the first grade teacher who was hands down the best teacher both of my girls ever had, probably the best teacher in town. Back in the day, I'd hang out with Phyllis and share a smoke and she always made me laugh. She died of lung cancer. But she wasn't the same since her husband died, and she deserved peace, and rest. Bye, Phyll.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here