the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

White-out 351

01.28.2004

2:12 pm

Let's see, it was just ... hmm, yesterday, that I remarked on my odd lack of success in finding a hotel room in Cardiff. Snow days being what they are, which is housebound, this morning gave me every opportunity I needed to call and personally book a room.

Once again, no such thing. Finally, I asked one of the lovely hotel clerks, the first one I could actually understand, in fact, just what was taking place there on the dates in question?

That would be the Six Nation Rugby Tournament.

Crap.

Well, I did manage to snag the Marriott, of all unexpectedly available places, for the second and third night, and they'll give me the first cancellation they get for the first night, so I'm pretty sure we'll be okay. But now my mind's eye keeps shifting between the image of 75,000 -- that's what the stadium holds, they told me -- drunken rugby fans roaming the streets of this otherwise charming city while K and I try to get to the art museum and the shops, and the image of 75,000 wizards apparating and portkeying in to see the Quidditch World Cup.

You'd think I'd know better than to imagine that just because they're British, they're wizards. It's not like I'm planning to spend one of my London afternoons at Diagon Alley. Not that K wouldn't jump at the chance to go there with me.

Okay, this is bordering on hallucinating now.

Speaking of which, when I woke up this morning, I asked the Hubs if in fact the phone had rung at some point last night after I was already in my Ambien-induced coma, and he said that not only had Colleague called me at 11:25 to tell me that school was closed today, I had gotten out of bed immediately and posted it on the school website. It's not that I didn't remember the call, or even getting up and going to the computer. I did. I just wasn't sure if I was remembering a dream or the real thing. I mean, I knew it was real, because I knew there was no school, but ... really, when I wake up from the Ambien sleep I'm clear as a bell; last week I got up for a drink of water and got hooked watching a whole episode of Oprah in the middle of the night, and I remember it even now, but the next day I'm sometimes a little hazy about whether I really was up or not. But I'm not sleep walking or anything, which is why I stopped the Ambien last year, but that was a higher dose. Looking to stop it over February break anyway.

I believe I will take the opportunity to watch a movie now. Perhaps one of my goofy musicals that no one else will ever watch with me. About a week ago, I watched A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, and it was wonderful. I'm thinking now How to Succed in Business Without Really Trying, the original movie with Robert Morse. Until then, I'm copying stuff to send to R. A mother's work is never done.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Sex and the City
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here