the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Triumphant Return of Boo 353

01.30.2004

4:13 pm

The Vet Who Knows Cats says that Boo�s bloodwork is "normal" today, which means a reprieve, I guess, for the little old man. Very nice news. I should have thrown him a party when he came home just now.

And the trip is now 100% booked and ready to go. Which probably means that I�ll start packing this weekend. Hehehe. Just kidding. I know I�ll start packing this weekend.

This is how slow I am. This winter has been unusually cold inside the library, but only where my desk is (near an exterior wall) and on the floor under and around my desk. For a second floor room that�s never had this problem before, it�s a little strange. I keep my bag on the floor next to my desk, and when I reach down to pick it up, the fabric is cold to the touch. That�s how cold it is. My feet, which, okay, are never warm, sometimes even in July, are always freezing. But it only occurred to me this morning, duh, I could get a little space heater, park it on the floor right by my feet, and it would be much, much, better. I mean, right? Why did it take me so long to figure this out?


The Five

You have just won one million dollars:

1. Who do you call first? Assuming that the Hubs is home and has already been told, my first call is to the Sibs, since half of it is hers and she ought to know. The next call is to the accountant so I don�t lose more of it in taxes than I need to.

2. What is the first thing you buy for yourself? Perhaps a new car, or some nice furniture. Down the road apiece, a timeshare in DisneyWorld.

3. What is the first thing you buy for someone else? After paying off all the college tuitions and loans, new cars for my kids.

4. Do you give any away? If yes, to whom? Depending on the amount of money, of course, I�d like to give big bucks to the children�s cancer research facility (Tomorrow�s Children) at Hackensack Hospital, and to Eva�s Village, which does wonderful work with the homeless in nearby Paterson. I�d also like to pick one kid a year at my high school and pay for his/her four years of college.

5. Do you invest any? If so, how? I invest as much as I possibly can after spending what I want/need to. Among other things, I inherited a connection with a broker from my father, so between him and the accountant, I would expect them to tell me how to invest it. I would have no sense of that personally whatsoever, other than wanting to own a few shares of Disney stock, and I wouldn�t even know how to follow that. I don�t understand the stock market or any of that staff even one little tiny bit.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Oprah
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here