the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Triple Threat 367

02.13.2004

6:23 pm

What are the three best kinds of days at work?
  1. Friday
  2. Payday
  3. Day before vacation
So even if the roof fell in today, how bad could it have been?

Have I ever mentioned the foolishness of Valentine's Day? Stupid, stupid greeting card holiday. The Hubs cannot be gifted; Christmas and birthday are hard enough. I looked for some token thing, a little bear or some such crap, but did not find. I'm sure he isn't doing any better for me, and I could care less. Flowers (allergic) and chocolate (heartburn) are out, so maybe we could just call it a wash and get on with the weekend. I will if he will.

Ah ... Friday Five

1. Are you superstitious? Not well-known superstitions, just my own warped sense of how the universe works.

2. What extremes have you heard of someone going to in the name of superstition? Nothing in anyone I know, just in books, or mostly, TV shows.

3. Believer or not, what's your favorite superstition? The whole evil eye thing amuses me. That one can either draw the attention of the evil eye or hide from it. Jane mentioned her ex-mother-in-law's spitting and saying kenahora; the real traditionalists make a vee of their first and middle finger and spit through them. This is the Yiddish way of saying "Evil Eye, stay away from me!" I always got a kick out of that.

4. Do you believe in luck? If yes, do you have a lucky number/article of clothing/ritual? I believe in luck, but moreso in fate (karma, kismet, or in Yiddish, beshert). I think things generally work out the way they were meant to, for some reason that I don't know. Lucky rituals border on the obsessive-compulsive to me, given my mother's history; however, there are several things I choose not to be without. Sentimental, yes, but they also give me a sense of ... protection?
  • I always have in my wallet a large, lightweight coin that I got at the Magic Kingdom parade the time I went there with my sister after my brain tumor. Mickey Mouse put it in my cupped hands personally. I only found out recently that my sister always carries her coin, too.
  • I wear my mother's wedding ring.
  • I wear my half of my father's wedding ring (my sister has the other half) on a chain around my neck, the chain that my mother bought me with what little money my grandmother left when she died. (She bought something similar for each granddaughter.)
5. Do you believe in astrology? Why or why not? I think astrology is a load of crap. I don't even know what signs my children are. I certainly don't begrudge anyone the right to believe in it, I just don't.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching King of Queens
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here