the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Day Four. Yahrzeit 372

02.19.2004

5:23 pm

Which is to say, the anniversary of my father's death, the first. And I'm okay. I haven't been obsessing about it; it's just another day. Sometimes it does overwhelm me, still, but not today. But worth noting.

Today I went to the nutritionist, which went pretty well. It was mostly history, eating habits, going over the foodlogs I've been keeping, and some getting started tips. I'll be going back in a week or so for some further and more specific plans. But it looks encouraging. I even went to the supermarket afterwards and picked up a whole mess of low-fat foods that I'll be willing to eat (I hope), as she says it's eliminating the trans-fats from my diet that's the secret to the cholesterol control. Really, it's amazing how much crap is in the food we eat. And yet this is what makes mass-production of food possible. It's a real ying-yang thing; what's making us stronger is what's killing us.

And .. and ... I forgot what else. Except to say that I really never want to go back to work. Hahahahaha on me.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Drew Carey
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here