the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Alas. Alack. 374

02.22.2004

6:26 pm

Woe is me. Vacation is over. I am such a crybaby.

Took K to the train this afternoon after a lovely, but short, weekend visit home. Of course she is coming back in two weeks at which point I'll be with her 24/7 for six days or so, so I can't really complain there.

The thing I did this weekend that was different was go to a friend's house for dinner last night, a couples thing. We do not do this often, as the Hubs tends to sit with his arms folded across his chest without speaking for the whole evening, which makes me uncomfortable. (Funny, my father sometimes did the same thing. Or not funny, whatever.) And it was very loud, as there were about six couples, so from time to time I had no idea what was going on. But it was a very nice evening; I'm glad we went. The hostess was my wonderful friend E (see The Scorecard, on the left). Even though I hardly see her since she retired, she is THE BEST and I just feel so good when I'm with her. It's like being wrapped up in a warm blanket. And she is not a goody-goody all-smiley type, she is funny and sharp, as is her husband, who retired when she did. The couples were all tied in to the high school one way or another; one of each couple is a current or former teacher or administrator. So I decided not to care when the Hubs was mostly quiet, because from time to time the talk did turn to school and then all the spouses were a little left out. But when I've gone somewhere social with the Hubs with people he works with I didn't have a clue either, so that's okay.

Just talked to R, whose show this week went great. I was supposed to have been there this week, so I would have seen it, but that's okay too. She's getting a tape or DVD, so we'll get to see it. She and K were both very active in the drama club in high school (although not always on stage), as were my sister's three kids. We have a long standing tradition, starting in J1's freshman year -- he's about to turn 30 -- that at the end of a performance, each kid would get a bouquet of flowers and a bottle of Pepsi. Most of this kids got flowers from their families, but after his first show, when the cast and crew came out to the lobby to greet their families and friends, J1 said he was thirsty, and after that, my father always brought a liter of Pepsi, which he would guzzle down right then. So over the years, even when Grandpa couldn't make to one of the kids' shows, someone brought Pepsi. Earlier this week, on the night of her first show, I emailed R pictures of flowers and a bottle of Pepsi. So it's just like we were there anyway.

I made dinner tonight, which is getting to be more routine than abnormal; I think I'll go see if it's edible. It's sweet potato and chickpea stew, so it's been ... well, stewing, while I was talking to the kid and now finishing this entry. And I'm actually psyched for Sex and the City, which I can usually take or leave, but last week's was so good.

Heigh-ho.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching All in the Family
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here