the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hello There 386

03.12.2004

11:46 pm

I'm back in the good ole USA. Since I'm way past the point of normal tired, I've been opening mail and email, catching up on some diaries, and generally not going to sleep yet. When I go, I want to fall asleep and wake up on Sunday. As if.

Anyway, until I can post a real entry, I thought I'd try something I saw in a few places: cosmicrayola, inkdragon, and trinity63. The game is, you type your first name into Google and go to Images. Copy a few of the images you like into your diary.

This did not work for me. Not at all.

Some time ago, I ran a "Name the Purple Chai" contest, in an attempt to find something better than my stupid given name. One of the reasons I never have put my actual name on my diary is that it is relatively uncommon, and my mother's choice of spelling for it is even moreseo. Too easy for someone to find me, as this experiment made fairly clear.

All of the results that came up in the google-image-your-name game were pictures of other people who happen to have my name. People who have websites or who appear on websites, and their pictures are there, identified as thename.jpg. Pages and pages of headshots of ordinary people named that. Nothing cute, nothing funny.

Unless you think that a certain comedienne who used to have her own very succesful TV show and who is known for her crude humor, multiple marriages, and bizarre behavior, and who happens to be exactly my age and also Jewish, is funny. A couple of pictures of her, her name mis-spelled so it looks like mine, turned up when I searched under my name.

Alas, not a good game for me.


A little bit of Five before I crash:

1. What was the last song you heard? "Can't Help Falling In Love", Elvis. Not generally an Elvis fan, but I LOVE this song.

2. What were the last two movies you saw? On the plane tonight I watched Cheaper by the Dozen (cute) and Love, Actually, which I'd seen before and ... well, love. Earlier this week, R took us to the movies in Cardiff and we saw School of Rock, which I also liked.

3. What were the last three things you purchased? Easy. Lunch/dinner at the airport McDonald's. Cheeseburger. Fries. Small soda.

4. What four things do you need to do this weekend? Laundry. Litterbox. Buy food. Laundry.

5. Who are the last five people you talked to? Hubs. K. Driver who picked us up at the airport. Customs guy. Immigration/passport guy.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Will & Grace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here