the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Heigh-ho, Everybody 385

03.05.2004

7:38 pm



Here I am in the swamp, last day before taking a week off to see the world.

I�ll be on my way tomorrow, leaving Newark Airport around 8:15 in the evening. This probably means that we have to be at the airport by about noon.

As the good little control freak that I am, I keep wondering ... not worrying ... about all the things I feel like I need to know but can�t possibly find out until I�m there. If we go through security around 6:00, which seems reasonable, will there be someplace to get dinner on the other side? When R went back in January, she had to go through security twice and then wait at the gate for a couple of hours. Then the flight was delayed. And there wasn�t even a restroom there that they could use! I guess I can bring powerbars, but they won�t be much good if I need to pee.

Seriously, how will I go without Internet contact for six days? I�m hoping I won�t have to, between R�s computer in her room and the Internet cafes that they say are on every street corner over there, but you never know. I expect I�ll be able to check email and read diaries from time to time, and I would really like to post a quick entry when I can. I don�t know how feasible that it is. In the interests of time, access, and wanting to both post diary entries and email folk, I put up a quick little weblog-style diary just for the trip. This way, I can post whenever I get the chance, and give out the address to family and friends as well. Apparantly this is the 2004 version of sending vacation postcards.

So here it is. And since why not take every chance to learn how to do something different, I made a button, should anyone want such a foolish thing.





I�ll be taking about a million pictures and also writing in a **gasp** paper journal, hoping to tell my wanderer�s tale in full when I get back.

As for Kermit ... I do love those Travelocity commercials, but David is a House Gnome and prefers not to travel. I considered taking another mascot with me, possibly either or both of these friends:



The elder gentleman is Ebenezer McLenstarison. His young nephew is Hannibal Rufus. (Come on, I was in fifth grade.) But I don�t think they�re ready for a world stage, either. What if I lose them?

Speaking of which, and going back to the Friday Five (see below) a few weeks back about superstition, I guess I�m more superstitious than I�d like to believe. I really really don�t want to travel without the � protection? of my grandmother�s chain with my father�s wedding ring on it, or of my mother�s wedding ring, which I wear. But I�m also not interested in losing them or having them stolen. So they stay home with David and the Troll Family. Certainly I have another wedding ring I can wear. It�s the Jack protection I think I�ll miss. I�ll have to look around for something else.

And Kermit lives on my desk at work, on top of the I.D. card camera, actually. (�Okay, look at Kermit and don�t move!�) He can come with me. Maybe he�ll meet up with some those English frogs. Wait, that�s French.

We�re off in less than 24 hours. Heigh-ho!
A Quick Five

What was...

1. ...your first grade teacher's name? Miss Croughan.

2. ...your favorite Saturday morning cartoon? I'm older than you are, so I was watching live kiddie TV at this age. Howdy Doody! The actual cartoon I loved the most was Crusader and Rags.

3. ...the name of your very first best friend? Patti.

4. ...your favorite breakfast cereal? At that age, Trix, if I could get them.

5. ...your favorite thing to do after school? Go outside and play. When I came in to clean up for dinner, my sister would be watching American Bandstand.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Inside the Actor's Studio
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here