the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Woo Hoo! Pinkeye! 395

03.24.2004

6:19 pm

So I got to work this morning at my usual 7:00 ish, used the time until the library opens at 7:30 to take a nice 20 minute walk around the building, hung out at my desk getting ready for the day from 7:30 to 8:00, when first period starts, and then at 8:00 went down to the nurses' office and asked them to take a look at my puffy left eye.

They said it was conjunctivitis and I had to go home. How cool is that? Having something that means you can't be around kids for 24 hours but you don't feel sick?

I'll admit I went out and did an errand or two on the way home -- the cats need to eat -- before picking up my eyedrops. Then a nice little nap, playing around at the Harry Potter websites, copying some videotapes -- all in all, a very nice day. When I talked to K a little while ago on the phone and told her I got sent home with pinkeye, she said "What are you, seven?" All I know is, when the nurses told me to go home, I laughed all the way back to the library and then out to my car.

I seem to have lost about two pounds. I am encouraged.

Another in-service day tomorrow, and this one looks like the worst of all. Everyone has to work on curriculum revision, except the state doesn't acknowledge that school libraries even have curricula, so I get to sit in with the social studies department for the afternoon. Why? Who knows. The guidance counselors and nurses are similarly placed in various departments, cause everybody's gotta be somewhere. What a waste of time. And since the chairman of the social studies department is my friend and GSA co-advisor, I can't even be rude and read a book or magazine, or even listen to Al Franken's book, which I started listening to this morning and which is very, very funny.

Well then.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dharma & Greg
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here