the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Is it Tuesday Already? 394

03.23.2004

6:57 pm

Where was I?

I went to bed a little after 8:00 last night. I can't blame the jetlag anymore; I guess it's just me.

So on Sunday, we'd just gotten to the ILS, I'm sitting there and my cellphone rings. (This does not happen often.) Since R had called minutes ago to wish her grandmother a happy birthday, I assumed this was K. But no. I said hello, and a woman's New York-y voice says, "So, where are you?"

"Who is this?" I reply. And the voice says:

"It's your motha."

Holy Freak Me Out, Batman. I have dreamed more than once that Shirl has called me from The Great Beyond on my cellphone. Good thing that this woman's voice was more Brooklyn than Bronx, or she might have sounded too much like her. Anyway, I said, "Uh, I don't think so." At which point she hung up. Stunned people looking at me around the room.

In other news, one of the assistant principals calls me in today for consultation. Sitting in his office is a girl I know; she looks miserable, which is her normal look. She looks miseralble when she's laughing. It's just the way she is. But he's got a couple of printed Internet pages in his hand, and the school social worker -- I'm guessing this girl's case worker -- is there too. Here's what happened: the kid had posted to her livejournal diary in class, and someone else found it and printed it out.

She has great cause to be miserable, poor thing. The administrator has no idea what livejournal or an online diary is; he's trying to figure out if the kid broke any rules by going to this site. Is it chat? No. Can she make contact with strangers here? Well, yes, kind of. He certainly called in the right one to explain the concept of the online diary, though. Although he was having trouble with the private-thought-published-online thing. I explained that it wasn't against any rules; if her teacher gave the kids a few minutes of free computer time at the end of the period, she'd done nothing wrong. I explained to her, however, that doing this in school -- which I think is the way lots and lots of high school people do it -- was risky for her, as she can now see. I said that I had an online diary, and if anyone I knew found it, I would feel violated too. Poor kid. The only cool thing was, she had written something not so nice about her last meeting with said vice principal, and he was very good about that. He said he wasn't at all concerned about the content; he wasn't even looking at it past the first few lines he had seen. Good guy.

Diet ginger ale is a free food. I'm sure of it.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching in between
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here