the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

You're Saved! 406

04.08.2004

6:29 pm

I wrote a long entry at work this morning that was all bitching and moaning about the SCM, who is driving me totally nuts in the few days that the Colleague is away, but I've decided to spare you the annoying details and let it go. There's no school tomorrow for Good Friday and I'm taking Monday off to get K to the train to get back to school, so I've got a nice four-day break from him. He is a maniac.

Instead I'd like to tell you all how I just almost choked on jell-o. Yes, I'm the mutant who can't eat jell-o without it getting stuck in my throat or going "down the wrong pipe" or whatever it is. I mean, who can't eat jell-o? I've known people who won't eat jell-o, who find it repulsive, including my husband and my late sainted grandfather. I once heard someone describe jell-o, to my absolute horror, as "like swallowing a snake." Well, that's repulsive. However, sugar-free jell-o has NO POINTS and I know that for sure and I love that no points stuff. Speaking of which, I lost no pounds this week, but the Sibs has lost just over 10 of those suckers on the Jenny plan. I'm very proud of her. All she needs to do now is stop smoking, but I don't nag on the topic. Of course, I just stopped myself in August. I don't believe quitting the smokes can ever be done unless the urge comes from within. I has spoken.

Speaking of being a mutant, have I mentioned that the tooth I had the root canal in hurts like hell? And that I couldn't get an appointment with the dentist until the end of the month? If he doesnt' yank that f--er right out, well, I don't know what I'll do. Why are they always so dead set on "saving the tooth"? Saving it for what? I've had a toothache since July, with only a brief respite here and there. I think it's time for all of us to let go gracefully, dentist included.

My newest obsession is Harry Potter fan fiction. The junkie who turned me onto this is my own sweet child. It's always there whenever you want it; there's so much of it. Satsifying.

As long as I'm on a random roll, may I just say that I'm not really enjoying this season of American Idol much at all. The ones with talent seem to end up in the bottom three, and two of those boys, although adorable, cannot sing. Or is it just me?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching K of Q
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here