the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Well, Of Course I Am 408

04.11.2004

12:08 am

What Flavour Are You? I am Vanilla Flavoured.I am Vanilla Flavoured.

I am one of the most popular flavours in the world. Subtle and smooth, I go reasonably with anyone, and rarely do anything to offend. I can be expected to be blending in in society. What Flavour Are You?


I'm a vanilla-holic, so even though this came up as my second answer (not that I did it twice; it said I was bread, and if I couldn't be bread, I'd be vanilla), it's the answer I would most want, so that's what I am and that's all that I am. Toot toot.

(this came from chaosdaily, btw.)

Happy Easter to all those who do Easter. As you know, I do a weird secularized version of a day that looks to me like it ought to be really holy and special and maybe even fireworks-setting-off, but as always, it's just my own peculiar little perspective. I asked the MIL yesterday if she wants me to bring any kind of contribution to tomorrow's brunch. She thinks that I literally do not cook at all and do not have the faintest clue how to cook, so this is always a tough question for her. This is what she said I could bring: a box of matzoh.

Yes. Matzoh. Why, you ask, does she feel the need for matzoh at her Easter table? Both her children-in-law are Jewish, but my brother-in-law is waaay less into this than even I am, and you know I'm not into it at all. His parents are somewhat conscientious about it, though, and their children -- that is, the children of the Hubs' sister and her husband -- consider themselves Jewish, even though they weren't raised to go to synogogue, follow customs, or anything at all, and of course, by Jewish law, they're not Jewish, since their mother isn't. That means that by Jewish law, my children are Jewish, and K now does self-identify as Jewish in custom and culture, as I do, but R feels no need to pick something and stick with it. When asked, she still offers a brief family overview and drops the subject. It's no one else's business as far as she's concerned, and that sounds fine to me.

The real question is, Why matzoh at the Easter brunch? No one will ask for it. No one would miss it.Being who we are, only cyncial and potentially sacrilegious answers came to mind, and K and I batted them back and forth for a minute feeling just a bit ashamed. We do get the seriousness of the occasion. But we also got pictures in our heads of the first Easter Sunday, Jesus resurrected and looking around for a little nosh, realizing that it's still Passover after all, and thinking "Man, I could really go for nice piece matzoh right now!"

Sorry.

We dropped by to see the Hubs' aunt and uncle this morning, mostly to pick up some of the Easter foods she makes to bring down to the folks tomorrow. We hadn't seen them in some time, although when we were engaged and newly married we saw them all the time, the families spent all the holidays together. It's harder as the children marry and then have children; I guess you run out of room and there are too many conflicting committments. Anyway, I may have mentioned these folks before. Uncle Al was best man at our wedding; he's the Hubs' godfather. He's been ill in the last year or two, first a stroke and a mild heart attack a few months ago. But he looked so good, much better than I'd anticipated. And we walked in the door, and Aunt Re just started putting out the placemats and china, the coffee was already brewed, and she was just icing her last batch of Easter knots. (Picure Homer Simpson drooling: "Uhhhhhhh .... Aunt Re's Easter knots.") So we sat for an hour and half, talking about all kinds of things; I just love these people. They were teasing me about looking up the knots in the Weight Watchers guide to see how many points they're worth. I think about 25 points each, and I only had three. (Kidding. I think maybe 3 points each. So it was lunch.)

K claimed to have had a most lovely birthday, which was a surprise considering it included a trip to the dentist. (Her teeth were permanently damaged somehow by her braces, and are discolored, and the enamel is wearing away. We'll be looking at caps on all her front teeth when she finishes school.) We were in BestBuy before so she could pick something out, and to my amazement it wasn't a DVD set, but computer software. And not a game, either! She apologized for wanting to use something as expensive as Paint Shop Pro. Well, yes, but ... way worth it if you can make it work for you, and she does understand graphics software, way better than I do. Seems like a reasonable expenditure to develop a useful skill.

We'll be on the road south by 10;30 in the a.m. Maybe I'll get to finish the Al Franken book at last. I have no idea what I can eat when I get there. I certainly didn't ask for anything different as the vegan I'm married to never does; I'll just make choices from what's there and write it down and figure out the points when I get home. (Hmmm ... bacon, 6 slices .... muffins .... bagel with cream cheese .... coffee with sugar ....) I'll put the points into the tracker at the ww website and the computer will light up and yell out "TILT!"

Sleepyish now, nearly 3 hours later than usual.Time to post and veg along with the rest of SNL.

Good holiday to all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching SNL
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here