the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Silly Me 413

04.16.2004

7:26 pm

Looks like I forgot to write an entry yesterday. To you, it might not look all that different from the days that I don't write one. The difference here is that I plain forgot, and didn't remember until I just looked at my last entry and saw that it wasn't from yesterday. Generally, when I don't write, at least I know it. Okay, not a big deal.

What's amusing me today is this. In May, the Hubs is going away on business. Three times. Since he doesn't travel at all, hasn't in years, and never had to go on any business trips before, it tickles me that he not only has to go now -- new job since December -- he has to go three times in one month. Boo hoo. It's not like he's phobic or anything; who knows, really, what his mishegas (craziness) is. He once said that it's wasteful of resources (like gasoline, energy, etc.) to travel, whether by plane or car. He's also mentioned several times that he's never been out of this time zone. He hasn't been trying to stay in this one, he's just never been out of it. He has been to Canada, but not for many years; he used to go there on fishing trips with his father. Of course there was our trip to DisneyWorld, the first time I went and the last time he flew, in 1988. He hates DisneyWorld, with, as my girls would say, the burning passion of a thousand suns.

Where is he going on his business trips in May? One, you guessed it, is a convention at DisneyWorld. He has to -- has to! -- stay at the Contemporary Hotel, which for him might as well be booking the best suite in hell. Another trip is to Toronto. When this came up, he said he'd probably drive to Toronto. I understand that this may take a couple of days. Well. And the last one is a short two-night jaunt to Atlantic City, which is no more than he might drive in a day to see a client in south Jersey, so that's no big deal.

Here's what made me laugh. He's made no arrangements yet; I guess the office is leaving it up to him and he's a babe in the woods. When he came home before, he asked me how I go about making travel arrangements. I told him I use a travel agent. I think that frightened him. I said that people use travel websites, or airline websites, but he still looked scared. I hunted up the business card for the travel agent I used for England, and to send R to England, and gave it to him. I am most deliberately not offering to do this for him. I think that is the path of disaster. If anything goes wrong, he will not blame me -- out loud -- but he will martyr off of it forever. I'm not being responsible for any travel snafus. Anyway, he's a big boy now, he can make a plane reservation. And a hotel reservation.

In DisneyWorld. Hehe. I wonder if he's going to bring me Mickey's autograph.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here