the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

You're a Blur to Me 417

04.22.2004

4:39 pm

I wasn't kidding when I told you about this.

In other news, I came out of the house the other morning, looked down and saw this



and shrieked "POISON!"

How is it that spring is so beautiful and yet the trees rain down their poison upon us? I haven't been able to open my eyes fully for days now. K at school says her ears are throbbing, the Sibs sounds like her nose is packed with cotton, and Colleague just loses her voice. There is no spring, anyway; there's winter and then summer. It was about 80 degrees today. No air conditioning in the library -- no air conditioning that works -- and the windows are a lost cause. It was not pleasant.

In other news, I came home yesterday from school to find that my living room was now designated as the official U.S. distribution center for cat vomit. That settles it. No point in getting rid of the carpet, no matter what it looks like. (Or smells like. Sorry.) Let them have at it. At some time in the future, we'll rip it out with glee, burn it in the backyard and have the floors refinished. If we pick it up now, they'll just ruin the floor and whatever area rug we put down on it. So there.

In other news, I'm hungry. Just having a hungry day. Lost so far, about 5 pounds. As my Latin teacher used to say -- of course, she said it in Latin -- I'm making haste slowly.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here