the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oh Blah Blah Blah 418

04.23.2004

7:21 pm

You've probably guessed this, but sometimes the title of an entry just hits me and I have to use it even though I have no idea what it's going to make me write. Like now.

The sun never came out for a minute today, and it either threatened rain or the air was somewhat spongelike, and for some wacko reason it was my best allergy day of the week. (Except when they were mowing the school lawn. Ugh.) I could actually keep my eyes open all day. Which is always nice.

I may also have mentioned that I've apparently decided to learn to cook during my second half-century of life. It seems that I actually know how to cook now; I can generally create a meal from ingredients on hand or actually think about what I want for dinner more than five minutes in advance, procure the proper ingredients, and make real food. Tonight I had some monkfish; I've never had monkfish before. And now I know why. Not a spectacular success, but worth a try. Did not so much have flavor. My favorite fish is catfish, the cheapest and best meal there is. People have said to me "You actually eat catfish?" Uh, why not? Is there something I don't know about catfish? Tastes good, you can make it all kinds of ways. I cannot believe I'm talking about cooking here. Perhaps because it's such a new experience.

Yet another week of vacation, aka Spring Break, coming up this week. I know it seems like my school has a vacation every other week, but it really doesn't. The last week off I had was unofficial, after all (hehe), when I went to the U.K. in March. Like every other school here, and maybe everywhere, we generally get a week off after every 8, but this was a longer stretch. I think there are only 6 weeks left until the end of school. I'm guessing they planned it this way so that school wouldn't be closed this week, since the state-selected date for the school budget vote was on Tuesday. No point in holding a school election when parents are taking their kids away for a vacation.

Blah. Blah.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here