the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Russian Venus 423

04.29.2004

6:19 pm

You know how sometimes you buy something -- an appliance, usually, like an iron or toaster -- and the words on the box are in English and French. I guess it's a product that's being sold in the U.S. and in Canada, so it's French. Since there are few speakers of French in my area, it always amuses me, but I get the point. And then there's a whole lot of other stuff, especially directions on the telephone, like when I call the electric company, that are available in English and in Spanish. I'm not editorializing on that one at the moment (although it's a hot topic with me), but again, I get it. Lots of people speak Spanish, especially in or near cities.

I picked up a new razor this morning, and when I opened the package, this is what I saw:



Yes.

Now, if you buy a razor of this particular brand where you live -- say, New Mexico, or Wisconsin -- is the package insert in English and in Russian? Or is that just unique to here? The list of kids at my high school reads like the Moscow phone book. Do they just ship such products to this area, targeting a specific clientele, or what?

Must be the times.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching K of Q
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here