the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Memorial 424

04.30.2004

8:04 pm

It's not as if I didn't know somewhere in the back of my mind that they were building a World War II memorial in Washington. I heard about it and I forgot it. I can't imagine why.

But it was on the news last night; apparently it was opened to the public yesterday. I saw a couple of pictures, and I saw the veterans walking around in it, sitting on the benches that line its perimeter. It is awesome. When the video panned around, it caught a view of some of the towers in the monument; there's a tower honoring those who served from each state, marked by the state's name. The one they showed in the video was Massachusetts.

Now I have a very strong desire to go there and leave a picture of my father at the foot of the Massachusetts monument. I'm wondering if before long there will be mementos and pictures and such, as there are at the Vietnam Memorial. Time will tell, I guess.

The website is here. The pictures on it aren't too great, since the Memorial hasn't been officially opened and dedicated yet. It says on MSNBC that they're opening ahead of the official schedule since World War II veterans are dying at a rate of 1000 a day.

One of the things the website does have is a place to register the names of those who served, those who "won the war", so their names are in a searchable registry. I liked that. I put Jack's name in; when I get the email notification that it's posted, I want to let the grandchildren and all know so they can see he's there.

Although we're going down to D.C. next Friday to bring K home for the summer, we'll have a van full of her stuff, and I don't think we'll have the opportunity to see the memorial. But I sure would like to get there sometime this summer. I feel like I've got to.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Joan of Arcadia
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here