the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

No One Is More Amazed Than I Am 428

05.05.2004

7:04 pm

Sorry to keep beating a dead horse, as it were, but as astonished as I've been at my success at completely changing the way I eat, it's nothing compared to the fact that I have begun to get regular exercise. I am simply stunned. Heaven knows I'm goal oriented and I love to make lists and cross off my completed little tasks, but come on. If I had ever known that it would be as easy as writing "walk" and "workout" on my list and then needing to cross them off, I could have done this years ago.

On my way to work this morning (I always get there early) I stopped and parked the car alongside the high school football field and walked three laps around the track.

Okay, enough. I am not, to use a Shirl-type expression, tooting my own horn. I'd have to be a lot less insecure to do that. This is more like the opposite of that -- sorry, I don't have a corny expression to go with it -- this is more like can you believe that lazy old me is actually doing this? I'm just surprised is all.

I've spoken to the various offspring today. K is coming home courtesy of the Mom and Dad Van Service on Friday, and R is leaving cozy Wales tomorrow for a European gallivant on the student economy plan. Ah, youth. My mother would just be so proud of her. She did love to travel, did Shirl.

I also spent a little time on the phone with J1, who called me at work, and agreed with me that his paper is relatively unorganized as well as due in three weeks. Paraphrasing an old commercial, I forget for what, we have always described J1 as "a completely unique experience." (Actually I think it was for Colt 45 malt liquor, back in the day.) We have alternately described him as "a piece of work." That's not very original, although he is. Fitting, somehow, that he has selected for his area of historical speciality the 1960s. He's a throwback.

Still sore, achy. It goes away, I hope. I really liked American Idol last night, and this hasn't been my favorite season, so I'm looking forward to that tonight. There's also a Dateline special on Friends. The Sibs asked me the other day if any of the networks were having any specials or reports on the end of Friends. ??? Did she just come in on the morning shuttle from Mars? It's everywhere, isn't it? Not that I don't watch them all, but come on, it's a TV show. Let's all get over it. (By this time tomorrow I'll probably be all "Aw, no more Friends!" like a true sicko. It's a TV show. It's a TV show. Get over it.)

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here