the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Apparently I'm Not Done Yet 429

05.06.2004

4:47 pm

One of my concerns of late is what I'm going to find to eat when I go amusement-park hopping with the seniors at the end of the month. I made the little mistake of mentioning this the other day to my dear Chum, who not only goes on the trip, too, keeping her company is the only reason I go. She said something about there being salad available in the places I was concerned about.

Salad at an amusement park snack bar consists of a few chunks of iceberg lettuce and a slice of tomato. By me, this is not lunch. I answered the Chum by saying something like, "Well, yeah, you know, I guess I don't always want just a salad." Left it at that.

I've been thinking about it more and I'm working out what I can eat. This is a good thing. So today I casually mentioned to her that well, I think I've got it all taken care of, I've got a good idea of what I can eat wherever we go. Her expression told me that she just totally doesn't get this whole thing. Then she said that obsessing about what you're going to pack, that she can understand. (That's an issue we share.) But thinking in advance about what you're going to eat, well, she doesn't understand that at all.

That's really what I'm thinking about here, not the food itself, but that my friend thinks that my whole approach to this situation is just not ... sensible? Is that it? Reasonable? Normal? I don't know the right word. I think what's so odd to me is that she thinks it's perfectly normal to understand one of my ocd-ish behaviors, because she shares it, but another one is just so out there to her.

This is weird, right? It's not just me. If she gets one, why not another?

Anyway, my whole point here is to think about a lot before I go so that when I'm there I don't have to think about it all; I won't have to stand at the snack bar counter for 10 minutes going "Uh, duh, I don't know what to eat", I can just order, eat, and get on with my day.

Funny thing, if this came from the SCM, I wouldn't be surprised at all. His most distinguishing quality is that he can't relate to anything that isn't happening to him, or within his own realm of experience. From the Chum, I'm a little surprised. It's not like her at all. Maybe she's having a bad day.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here