the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

One and All 431

05.09.2004

4:49 pm

Happy Mother's Day to everyone, mothers and daughters alike.

R called from the villa in Tuscany where she's vacationing for the week (from her excessively stressful life -- just kidding) to wish me a happy Mother's Day when I was out! I am very bummed by this. The Hubs got all her trip stories and I know she's safe and sound, but damn, I really did want to hear her voice. She's unlikely to call back today; she has very few minutes on her cell phone for international calls. Damn.

I've been posting to my fotolog again, now that I'm outside a little more and taking pictures again. I just couldn't find much to take pictures of all winter. I sometimes post to the group fotologs, too; I've especially been putting up some pictures of toys, here and here. Speaking of which, what K gave me for Mother's Day is this action figure of my favorite British schoolboy playing that game at which he so excels:



(Wouldn't want to be googled for HP playing Q, now, would I?)

I've spent the last two hours or so reviewing J1's paper and lordy begordy, I have got to mail that boy a big box of commas. Sheesh.

No school for me tomorrow, as I'm taking the extremely apprehensive K to get all four wisdom teeth pulled at 9:30, and then coming home so I can be her slave for the rest of the day. That doesn't sound too bitter, does it? When I think back to the days I've been out of school this year, honestly, I don't think I've taken more than one day off for actual illness, and every other has been involved somehow with K, I guess, since R is off in Europe. Even the week I took to go to the U.K. was with her/them. Otherwise, I've taken her to the train, picked her up from the train, gone down to D.C. to get her, and so on and so on. I did take a couple of early afternoons for the dentist. And a day for the mammogram, but then I had furniture delivered in the afternoon. All right, now I don't even know what I'm talking about. Let's just leave it at this: I'm not going to work tomorrow, but it's not going to be a nice day.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Queer Eye Marathon
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here