the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Thank You 434

05.12.2004

6:39 pm

I'm considerably less poopy today. For one, I didn't have to give up my lunchtime to come home and cater to the still-chipmunk-cheeked K, so I'm back in my regular eating routine and I feel better. For another, I squeezed in a walk this morning when I got to school, and I'm starting to miss that when I don't get it, so that was good. And have I mentioned that I spent a little less time with the cranky kid today? Ahhh.

There were horrific thunder storms all over New Jersey this afternoon, I hear; according to the weather map on TV they were all around us but not so much right here where we are. Weird. The Hubs just called from New Brunswick to say that he's safely arrived to teach his class tonight and how had we weathered the storm, but we really didn't have one. But he called; it's the cell phone advantage.

The thank you of today's title is to one of you -- I'm pretty sure it's LA, but maybe not -- who recently wrote something about the book Dear Enemy by Jean Webster, author of one of my all-time favorites, Daddy Long-Legs. I'm a little more than halfway through Dear Enemy at the moment, and I'm loving every word. So, thanks. This book is also most definitely not my nephew's masters' thesis, which, dear boy as he is, is still a masters' thesis and BORING.

Despite my lack of success with the trying on all my shorts fiasco of a few weeks ago (aka, The Incident That Forced Me To Begin to Exercise), I bit the bullet and tried on my bathing suits before. Oy. Not so much that they didn't fit; I just had to admit that when you buy your bathing suits at Kohl's, they're just not going to last forever. I barely need bathing suits anyway, just for the Senior Class trip, really, since I never actually swim. I may try to get by with the two I have that fit and look okay and be done with it.

I need a good Harry Potter fix. I read a long fanfic this weekend, but it only whetted my appetite for more. I actually read it while I was watching the first movie on Sunday night. Hmm, sounds like time to grow up.

Nah, never mind.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here