the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

: ( 435

05.13.2004

8:59 pm

I wasn't going to post tonight, since it's late (for me) and I wrote a little at school today so I was just going to post that tomorrow. Then I thought, what the ...

It took me awhile to figure it out, but I think I got it. This whole K-and-her-wisdom-teeth thing is totally re-awakening the feelings of fear and helplessness I had when she was SICK.

(Quick recap: she got sick Christmas week of her junior year of high school and stayed sick until she went away to college. She had Post-Viral Fatigue Syndrome, which is a variant of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. She basically did her last year and a half of high school on home instruction. And all kinds of folk kept asking me if it wasn't really emotional, or imaginary, even though we had a firm, clear diagnosis from the head of pediatric infectious diseases at the nearby teaching hospital. Coincidentally, my mother was dying during this period as well. It sucked big time.)

K is very tired since the oral surgery on Monday, and it's freaking me out. Is it a relapse? Am I over-reacting? How do I know? How do I know ANYTHING?

We did go back to the doctor today -- scheduled, not an emergency or anything -- and although I think he's applying the one-size-fits-all treatment to someone who merits some individual thought, he didn't see anything out of the ordinary. On the one hand, I feel like she's over-reacting some, but on the other hand, my instincts regarding her are totally unreliable.

So I'm bummed. Meanwhile, the Hubs has not yet packed for the first of his three business trips tomorrow. I wonder what he's waiting for. I just asked him if he's looked over the luggage and picked something out -- I have a penchant for cheap luggage, so there's a lot of it in the house -- and he said no. Okay then.

K is at least going out for a bit later with a friend, so maybe that'll perk her up. Of course, I'll be asleep by then, so I won't even get to enjoy the solitude in my little fortress here.

I gotta go read more of Dear Enemy to make myself happy enough to go to sleep.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Frasier
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here