the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Random Friday 436

05.14.2004

4:30 pm

The Hubs just called from A.C. -- that's Atlantic City for you non-Jerseyans -- to tell me had safely arrived "in Sodom and Gomorrah." I reminded him that at least he's not going to be in hell until Sunday, which is DisneyWorld for him. Hehe. Some people. I think I'll go to the Container Store tomorrow and pick up something for him to pack a suit in. Based on last night's conversation, I expected him to roll up his suit and stuff it into his laptop bag, and carry spare underwear in his pocket. But he left the house like a grown-up this morning with a little wheeled suitcase and his suit on a hanger. I think he says stupid things to me sometimes just to annoy me. Oh wait, it's the passive-aggressive thing, I remember now.

K seems to be much better today, which is a very good thing for me. Part of the whole shtick with her is that when she's not well she carries on as if she'll never improve, never feel better. She's been this way her whole life. It was just so ironic that once she got sick and stayed sick for a year and half. So now it's like she thinks she's right.

I'm baking a cake, which may be at this very moment overflowing its pan and adhering to the racks in the oven. I don't do this often enough to do it right, I guess. But this recipe is too good to be real: angel food cake mix and pie filling. Lite pie filling. (I used cherry; it was all I could find in lite.) That's it, that's the whole thing. So there's nothing bad in it. Chop it into 24 pieces and each one is worth 2 tiny little points. Cake is good. It's not Hostess Orange Cupcakes, but it's goooood.

The cat is staring at me. She's on the stepstool in front of my chair looking up at me and staring. If I look at her and make eye contact, she'll cry for food.

Ooh, the stove is ringing. This is going to be like the cake that Lucy made that took over the kitchen.
.
.
.
.

I'm going, I'm going.
.
.
.
.

This is the biggest, pinkest cake I ever saw.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here