the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Still Here 439

05.18.2004

6:51 pm

My house smells all bleachy, now that the plumber's been and gone and bleaching the utility sink seemed a wise course of action. It's icky, as a before and after sort of thing. Done, anyway.

I could not sleep last night, which was a total waste of having the bed all to myself and not listening to the Hubs' night noises, since he was still in Orlando. (Plane due to land back in New Jersey within the half hour.) Every time I started to drift off, something or other about The Psycho and Awful Yesterday came to mind. It makes me so angry that I'm letting her make me so angry. I guess I slept about three hours. But I did go in today -- I didn't walk to school; I was too tired -- and I didn't see her, so that was better. I had the nurse check my blood pressure and it was good. Three others who were at yesterday's meeting -- two friends and the school psychologist -- found me during the day and asked if I was okay, which felt good.

My W8 Watching appears to have gone awry, although I'm not eating any differently than last week, when I was losing nicely. I've gained a half a pound for three days in a row. I know, I know, I'm not supposed to weigh myself every day, weight fluctuates normally, etc. But it is discouraging. I haven't exercised other than walking for the last few days, since I've been having back spasms. Maybe that's it.

I took a walking stick with me to school today to help out in case I had spasms while walking to or from the stadium for the evacuation drill; mostly it was just one more thing to carry, along with the sign. When we arrive, they issue each of us a big wooden sign on a big wooden stick (kind of like an "End of the World Is Coming" sign) so that our students can find us in the stands. Everyone else's says the teacher's name and room number. Mine says "Library". It also has the name of the special program for emotionally troubled students, since if they happen to have a class in the main high school during a drill,they report to me. Not surprisingly, none of them did. They were there, both of them, but I know if I were in a special class for the emotionally troubled, I would not so much want to let the whole world know by assembling underneath a sign. Score another point for Bizarro World High School. I did have a couple of spasms while I was sitting there, but as long as I wasn't walking, no big deal. The demonstration itself was okay; it was very hard to see from most parts of the stands, and since the whole "accident" scene was crawling with volunteers (rescue squad, firefighters, police), it was even harder to see what was going on. The kids watching were relatively well-behaved and respectful, though. I didn't see anyone react strongly, but where I was sitting they probably couldn't see anyway.

K is making her own dinner as I type. Glory, glory be.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here