the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Bad Me 441

05.20.2004

6:08 pm

Now I feel bad for the Hubs because this traveling is getting to be too much, even for him and even though he deserves to have his comfortable world rocked now and then. But he woke up sick this morning -- he is NEVER sick -- and is now, as we speak, probably out renting or buying a tuxedo on his way home from work and he hasn't even had the chance to mow the lawn for three weeks, let alone get his tomatoes into the ground, and he lives on those tomatoes all summer and he's leaving for Montreal on Sunday.

On the other hand, I just had my root canal re-done. Life is tough all over.

I really do feel bad for him. I'd mow the lawn, if I could, but I could never move the non-power mower and I'd drop dead from the grass allergy anyway. If it were up to me, I'd hire someone to mow the lawn and be done with it. It's not that big a deal, not to him either; it's just becoming a job that he doesn't have time to do.

Another -- yes, another! -- in-service day tomorrow; I'm actually going to this one. I'm meeting in the middle school library which is literally seven houses away from home, so that's nice. Of course we're working on more crap: aligning the curriculum to the state standards. As if anybody at the state level had a clue. The senior prom is tonight, and for the last few years they've given us a full-day in-service the next day. Talk about twisted logic. Since time immemorial, kids have gone to the shore for the weekend after the senior prom, including the Friday after the prom, usually. They cut school to do this, unless they're on attendance probation, and almost always with their parents' knowledge and consent. But a few years back, a big group of kids behaved like they were from Caligula High School, video cameras and all, and when it got out, parents went crazy: how can the school condone kids cutting for the day like that? Uh ... excuse me? Solution? Cancel school for kids that day every year so the whole responsibility falls back on the parents (where it always should have been, right? Hey, we let my kid go, and I knew it was on our heads.) Ah yes, another fine day in the bizarro world that is my place of work.

Hubs just walked in. Tuxedo rented, head cold firmly in place. Fortunately for him, he has the world's most effective immune system. He expects to take no more notice of it within two days. They haven't made the cold yet that can take him.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here