the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Travels with Hubs 442

05.21.2004

8:07 pm

The travelogue marches on. He has decided not to go to Montreal after all, as he has too much to do at work. (Yes, it was a work-related convention he was going to. I don't know.) Anyway, maybe now he'll get the tomatoes in and mow the lawn; that'll make him happy. And his cold is much better. I know you were all dying to know.

I had lunch today with Chum and E, as we tend to do on in-service days. I miss E so much since she retired, and I know it'll kill me when the Chum goes in two years.

I spent the rest of the day in a room full of librarians. Hmm. Really, there's a reason we at the high school don't have much to do with the elementary folk. I had 0 in common with them, other than we were all assigned to the same dreadful task of matching the state curriculum standards to our own curriculum. The two middle school people are 1) delightful, and 2) nuts. I've known the nuts one for a long time; her oldest was in daycare with K when they were babies. There isn't a detail she can't embrace completely and then beat to death. The other one is lots of fun to spend the day with. At one point I suggested online diarykeeping to them as wonderful therapy. (I'm always hesitant to mention it to people, and yet driven to at the same time.) And the SCM only stuck with us for half the day and then went back to the high school to work.

Speaking of spending the day working at the school just down the street from my house, here's the moronic thing I did this morning. I had all this extra time, since the in-service started at 8:15, and I normally go to work around 7:00. So first I slept later, and then decided I could take a long walk. I figured out my route and took off, walking down a fairly steep hill that starts around the block from home. I got to the bottom and realized that my route was going to take way longer than I thought; in fact, way longer than I had. I still needed to get home and shower. The only solution was to walk back the way I'd come. That would be up hill. This so sucked, I can't tell you. Up freaking hill. Gah.

But I gave myself 2 exercise points instead of 1, since it took me nearly twice as long and it was up hill and all. Hey, they don't call this the flexi-point system for nothing.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The N - K's choice
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here