the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Really Good Day Follows Really Bad Night 453

06.09.2004

5:01 pm

But first, a little something I picked up from inkdragon here:





I made two of them; I don't know which one I like better. I couldn't resist making one with a peace-sign. In fact, they look pretty much like me. K has a site for another, more cartoony avatar; I may try that one for tomorrow.

Now.

What a sucky night last night was. First, the Hubs calls around five and says he's going out to dinner with a colleague. Well, no problem there. But come 8:30 or so, he's not home. That's a little late for him. Come 9:00, I'm starting to get a little concerned. Generally, if I want to sleep on a school night, I've got to take the Ambien around 9:30 and go to bed around 10:00. But I'm not taking a sleeping pill if I'm going to have to go somewhere and pick him up if his car conked out, or if the police are coming to take me to identify a body.

Yes, I'm that insane. I've written about this before, but usually, it's the children. The Hubs is a supernaturally good caller when he's going to be late. Which is what was freaking me out so much last night. If he wasn't dead, why hadn't he called?

It got later and later. I was beginning to make plans for widowhood. My best decision was that if he's dead, I'm not calling his parents. I'll call his sister and let her tell them.

I tried his cellphone twice, no answer; I hadn't expected one. At 11:30, I was channel surfing and saw that there was some kind of basketball playoff game on. And then it all fell into place: he was in some restaurant with a bar, the game was on, he got caught up in it and was watching. But he could have called, right? At least I figured he was alive somewhere. Ten minutes after that he called; he had picked up the cellphone and seen my two missed calls and for the first time realized how late it was. He doesn't wear a watch, never has. He's generally also supernatural about always knowing what time it was.

He was very, very apologetic and got home about 15 minutes later. It is very hard to be really angry with someone who's agreeing with you that he fucked up.

So I didn't really fall asleep until maybe 12:30. But then, adding insult to injury, he settled somehow into the middle of the bed and was snoring/kicking/kneeing/breathing on me all night, so I barely slept at all. Ergo, when the alarm went off at 5:30 this morning, I got up, called in sick, and went back to sleep.

Ahhhhhh. Let me tell you how lovely my day has been. I slept delightfully late, until 9:00 when the phone rang, and had pleasant conversation with K before she went to work at 9:30. I went to Dunkin Donuts and got a nice iced coffee. I finished all my laundry from the trip last week, and copied over four episodes of the Odd Couple from VHS to the computer. I got bills paid. I had a wonderful and creative lunch (toasted pita bread, with ham, swiss, and slices of avocado) and then took another nap. Dishes are washed. Litterbox is clean. Laundry is all put away, including a load of towels that K was going to do but now she's working so I did it. My desk is clear. It's too hot to walk today, so I didn't do that, but that's okay. I would have walked early, but I was sleeping instead.

This was such a nice day. I understand it's about 95 degrees out there today, but since I was only out for 15 minutes in the morning, I didn't have to care.

Pizza for dinner, maybe, if the kid wants it. She's coming home dead tired, since she's working in a store and is on her feet all day. Whatever she wants.

I'm very relaxed

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here