the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Beg to Differ 454

06.10.2004

8:13 pm

Are you Addicted to the Internet?
46%

[email protected] (41% - 60%)
You seem to have a healthy balance in your life when it comes to the internet and life away from the computer. You know enough to do what you want online without looking like an idiot (most of the time). You even have your own Yahoo club or online journal! But you enjoy seeing your friends and going out to enjoy life away from your computer.

The Are you Addicted to the Internet? Quiz at Quiz Me!


I am too addicted to the Internet!

On a typical day, the alarm goes off at 5:30 and within ten minutes I'm looking at the night's email. (I don't actually get much, but I look.) By the time I leave the house just before 7:00, I've read diaries, if I have the time, and maybe checked a few other sites. I've logged in my breakfast and lunch at the W8 Watching. Then I go to work.

I sit at a desk in the library where I use the computer, oh, I'll say, between 50 and 70 per cent of the day. Not all of it is on the Internet, but a lot of it is. Sometimes when I'm teaching, I'm teaching kids how to use various aspects of the Internet, or I'm working with them individually. On the Internet.

I come home, check email, read diaries, write an entry, go to Amazon, go to IMDB, IM with R, check email, read diaries. Sometimes I read Harry Potter fan fiction. Between getting home around 3:30 until I go to bed between 9:00 and 10:00, I'll guess that I spend 80 to 90 per cent of the time sitting at my desk, where the computer is always on, always there. I love broadband. I'm only going into assisted living someday if I can have a broadband connection.

By profession and personality, I'm an information junkie. I always was, even before I ever thought about being a librarian. The thing that gets me most about the Internet is the way that when you want to know something, you can find it out in a snap. Sometimes it takes longer, and then the search is worth the wait; it's fun.

Love that Internet, man. Just pin my geek of the week medal right here.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here