the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Sunday Night 456

06.13.2004

7:00 pm

I got up and out at a reasonable hour this morning and went to the park, where I walked for three miles. I don't believe I have ever walked that distance alone before. And I was fine, until after going to the movies this afternoon (Harry Potter again, boy!) and I tried to get out of my seat and my old knees said "Ohhhh Nooooo! Don't do that!" So I hobbled out and then was fine after a bit.

We socialized with other humans last night, which we don't do often. I used to think I had some kind of social anxiety that made me not want to do this, or that the Hubs was weird and sat there like a stone when we were in groups and that made me uncomfortable. These things notwithstanding, I now realize that I just don't like it. I don't like hanging out in groups; there are too many people, too much noise. Among my age-enhance quirks, I don't like standing around and eating, for one, and I don't like ... okay, here's a big admission ... using the bathroom in other people's houses. Quirky, you say? Yes. Here's why.

Since the Brain Tumor of 1991 and the resultant facial paralysis (which is much better now, but even so), I like to be able to cover my mouth with a hand when I eat in public. I like to be able to do this without attracting too much attention. When you're eating in a walking-around situation, it's just hard to do. Usually, you're eating with one hand, holding a drink in the other. I need that third hand. So I don't care to do it.

Okay, bathroom. I may have mentioned before, although not for some time, my absolute horror or bathrooms with two doors. Why, Why, WHY would anyone EVER build a bathroom with two doors? What sort of mind can conjure such a thing? (I may be overreacting.) Part of my horror here comes from a time a few years ago when I was at the Hubs' sister's house and discovered belatedly that I was in a bathroom with two doors, which I did not realize until well after I should have. (Picture begins to develop.) So you see, I have my reasons. Not that everyone's house does have a bathroom with two doors. Probably the Chum's, where we were last night, didn't. Even so. Better safe than sorry, I always say.

Ah, diaries. Where would we be without them?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Goonies
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here