the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

On My Way Out the Door ... 457

06.14.2004

4:34 pm

Three more pounds and I'm eating a Hostess Orange Cupcake.

Maybe two. Screw carrots. I hate carrots.

Listen to this one. I'm reading a health-type magazine just before, and there's a letter sent in to a column called "You Asked Us." This has got to be the out-and-out stupidest question I've ever seen. (If you wrote it, well, I'm sorry, but you had it coming.)

"Are there guidelines for how much water children should drink? I'm convinced that often when my kids think they're hungry, they're actually thirsty."

Can you spell M-I-C-R-O-M-A-N-A-G-E?

Unless this woman's children are

  1. days old
  2. not actually human beings
someone needs to tell her that human beings will generally know if they are thirsty. Hunger is trickier, as many people know; it's not uncommon to think you're hungry when you really just feel like eating. Yes, no? But she thinks her children can't tell when they're thirsty? I mean, I know that you might have to remind them to drink more when it's really hot, or they've been very active. They're too busy to think about it. That's not the same as not knowing the difference.

Maybe it's just me. But this one seems just stupid.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here