the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Speaking of Books 463

06.18.2004

5:16 pm

Will I never let this go?

So when I got into work this morning, there was a message in my mailbox from one of the main office secretaries that the Superintendent of Schools had called me yesterday after I left. Odd. I rarely, if ever, get calls from him directly. I get in very early, so I waited a while and then called him back, leaving a message on his voicemail.

About an hour later, I get a call from one of the elementary school principals, the one who's in charge of all the elementary school librarians. The Superintendent had called her, too. It seems he's looking for a book. (I can't imagine why he called her, but we'll let that go.)

She explained the whole story, that he was looking for a book, on and on, and then said that the book he was looking for was something called -- it sounded like -- Don Kickshot.

Sounds like a kid's book to me, but I never heard of it. What was she calling me for? I asked her to say it again.

So she said the whole thing again, she got a call from the superinendent, he's looking for a book, ad infinitum, Don Kickshot. (Did you get it yet?)

I explained that I still couldn't understand what she was saying, but when she started it up from the beginning again, I asked her to just repeat the title of the book. I was blank. So I asked her to spell it. Ready?

D-O-N-Q-U-I-X ....

"Don Quixote?" I asked. "He's looking for Don Quixote?!?" and I nicely did not add to the end of this "you freaking moron?"

"Oh, is that how you say it?" she asked. "I really don't know any Spanish."

I ask you, must you speak Spanish to have ever heard of Don Quixote? Man of La Mancha ring a bell? Impossible dreams?

This, I remind you, is a school administrator with the requisite bachelor's and master's degree. I'm not saying everyone on the planet has heard of Don Quixote, and certainly fewer people have read it than have heard of it. I've never read it, either. Isn't quixotic a big SAT word?

Maybe it's me.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here