the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Proud to be an American 478

07.06.2004

4:04 pm

I just saw Farhenhite 9/11.

See it.

I am thankful that I live in a country, and a time, when such a movie could be made. I think Michael Moore has his flaws, certainly, but I am glad that he exists and does what he does. We are lucky to have him, and that he isn't afraid to do his work.

I suppose that if you are a Bush supporter, the movie won't convert you. It doesn't have to. It is very moving and the people in it are very real. Yes, of course, it contains edited clips. Otherwise it would be months long. But the people in it are saying things that they believed to be true, and no one was putting words in their mouths. Parts of it are chilling.

As for the essence of its content -- that the Bush side stole the election and created a war because it was good for their business -- I believed it before and I certainly believe it now. Either you do or you don't. Wanting the war to stop has no bearing on support for the men and women who are fighting there. I am grateful to them. I support them. I want them to be safe and home and not risking their lives to make rich men richer. The film says the same thing.

Being against war, or this war, does not make someone unpatriotic, whatever that is. Wanting to preserve our liberties and way of life is patriotic. Wanting to destroy them is not. Guess who is on which side.

Really. See it.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here