the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Friday 481

07.09.2004

5:19 pm

Two men were here this afternoon, ripping up the gray carpet in the living room and hallway. There's actually a decent floor underneath. It needs a little work, but it's okay. I ordered -- finally! -- the furniture for the living room, and what with the area rugs yesterday, maybe the room will take shape after all. It sure does need to be painted now, though. Maybe that'll be next.

The rugs I ordered are navy. I'm debating if I want to keep the gray with that -- very Civil War, very Georgetown, and matching the outside of the house, hmmm, sounds good -- or beige and navy. I've always liked beige and navy. Now that I'm writing, I'm thinking navy and gray and all that wood in there now may be the thing. The antique children's rolltop looks very cute there, in fact, and goes well with the color of the floor, although it's not an exact match (which would probably look strange anyway.) The couch of the moment is already gray. The most amazing thing is that there's no furniture in there I had to assemble myself. (Okay, two Ikea floor lamps, but that's it.) The rest of it is real, actual grown-up furniture. It's about time, hey?

Here's the image stuck in my head: When these guys were all finished and gone, and I vacuumed, swept, swiffered, etc., I opened the bedroom door and let the cats out. I kept picturing that Q, ready for today's afternoon barf, would go running around the living room with a paw over her mouth looking for someplace to put it, like a drunk looking madly for the nearest toilet.

It's wonderful the way that pets enrich our lives.

I'll probably end up posting over the weekend, but I don't always, so just a mention that I'm having that eyelid surgery -- yes, again -- Monday morning, so I may not post Monday either, since one eye will be patched and I'll probably just claim the family room couch for mothers everywhere, force my kid to fetch me iced tea and string cheese, and watch TV, having also claimed remote control control. But the surgery's a piece of cake. Mmmm, cake. If I'm having surgery, I should get to have some cake as a reward, don't you think? Perhaps it's Hostess Orange Cupcake time at last.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching M*A*S*H
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here