the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Five by Five 484

07.13.2004

10:04 am

From Random Acts of Journaling:

Five by Five

Quickly, without giving it too much thought, write down five things you can see from where you are sitting.

Now, tell us five things about each of those five things

1. All the Pills I Take

  1. They're very nicely organized.
  2. It looks like there's a lot of them, but there really aren't.
  3. Those glucosamine/chondroitin things are freakin' huge.
  4. They're all different pretty colors.
  5. I keep them right on my desk so I won't forget to take them.


2. An Empty 20 oz Mug of Iced Tea

  1. I've been drinking lots of iced tea these days.
  2. Here's my recipe: I make two cups of decaf British Breakfast Tea, 1 cup of decaf green tea, add two and a half packets of sweetnlo or the blue stuff, put in a big mug and sip it through the day.
  3. I finally found a way to drink lots of water, since decaf tea or coffee counts as water, I think.
  4. I love my new pod coffeemaker, which makes the tea, too. I make at least four cups a day, counting the three cups of iced tea and one cup of coffee in the morning.
  5. And green tea is supposed to be good for you, too, right?


3. Q

  1. There she is again.
  2. She's staring at me.
  3. She's still staring at me.
  4. Well, she hasn't barfed today. Yet.
  5. I'll bet she's hungry.


4. Books

  1. I've got lots of books. Since I put some nice shelves here in the family room, I can keep a lot of the books I really love close to me -- about four feet away from where I sit at my desk.
  2. One shelf has my totally favorite books, and the five Harry Potters. Among my favorites on the shelf are Tales of O. Henry, Daddy Long Legs, Catch-22, The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Welcome to the Monkey House, Gone With the Wind, The Color Purple, and four Jane Austens.
  3. The shelf below that has children's books, including The Phantom Tollbooth, Le Petit Prince, The Fools of Chelm (signed by I.B. Singer), the three E.B. White books, Mouse Tales, The Snowy Day, and Harold and the Purple Crayon.
  4. The shelf below that has a lot of Shakespeare, Latin books (including two textbooks, the Grinch in Latin, 4 little Peanuts books in Latin I've had since high school, and two antique books), and various Yiddish dictionaries and stuff.
  5. The bottom shelf has my most favorite picture books that need to be flat or standing up, including Millions of Cats, The Five Chinese Brothers, Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day, On Beyond Zebra, and Where the Wild Things Are, as well as some random stuff, like French for Cats and Eats Shoots and Leaves.


5. Hats on a Head

  1. Since R is gone in Wales for a year (or more?) and packed up all her stuff, I put her glass head on my desk to keep my hats on.
  2. The bottom hat in the stack is a navy wool hat from R's college that she bought for my father. Each of the grandkids had at one point gotten him a black or navy wool baseball cap from his or her college, and Jack wore the newest one as his winter cap each year. When he died, we gave each kid back his or her own cap. Since the twins went to the same school (and there was only one cap), we gave my nephew Jack's wool Yankees cap (which he wore before any of the kids went to college), since they were bonded tight over baseball
  3. The tan cap on top of that one is my cap from R's college.
  4. The two wool caps above that are from the trip in March. One of them is from R's college in Wales, and the other one is from the Globe Theatre
  5. The two caps on top are both from K's college. I mostly wear the tan one, but I've decided that it would behoove me to start wearing the red one, since, according to the poem, "When I am an old woman I shall wear purple, and a red hat that doesn't go, and doesn't suit me." Heaven knows I wear enough purple. Time to add the red hat.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here