the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Playing Catch-Up 485

07.14.2004

11:21 am

Where was I?

The eye is looking very good. It still looks bruised and a little puffy, but at the moment, my two eyelids are even with each other, which would be the first time since 1991 that I can make that claim. After the last surgery, my right eye was more open; you could see the whole round colored iris, although my left eye was normal, and more closed than that. Now they seem to match. Even if it pulls up a bit when the swelling goes down, it should still be good. Really, I never thought my eyes would match again. So there some excellent potential going on here. It doesn't hurt or anything either, although I do keep forgetting to put the drops in. My bad.

I never left the house yesterday, and for a stupid reason. I was waiting for UPS to deliver my rugs, and I got all caught up in What will happen if I go out and they come while I'm out? Which is totally ridiculous, since I've never gotten a UPS delivery in this house before 4:00 in the afternoon, and gee, I think I would have been back by then, no matter where I went. But we seem to have a new delivery guy, and when he finally did come -- at 5:30 -- he only delivered one of the packages; I asked if there weren't more, but he said no. Then he came back at 6:30 with the other two. Okay.

So the Hubs says, when he got home, that he's going out to dinner after work on Thursday, and then, with a sort of doubtful look, asks if I want to go out to dinner on Friday. Whaaaa? I .. dinner ... out ... him ...? Oh right, it's our anniversary, so it's our annual dinner out. (That sounds nasty, doesn't it.) Anyway, so we are. Going out. We resolved the logistical dilemma of where he can get vegan food and I can get W8 Watching food, and are going to Applebeees. Not quite as elegant as The Manor, which is where we were married in 1977 and where we used to go for anniversary dinners in the years thereafter, but hey, you adjust, right?

Speaking of the W8 Watching, on Saturday, my weigh-in day, I was just one pound away from my goal weight, and on Monday morning I weighed 3 pounds more. (I repeat, Whaaaa?) And it wasn't food, since I hadn't been eating differently, and didn't even have the Hostess Orange Cupcake until Monday afternoon. (Yes. I had the Hostess Orange Cupcake, and I'm GLAD! I would do it again.) So now I'm working on that. It's probably inactivity. I just haven't been walking or even exercising much, or even going anywhere and walking around. Got to work on that, too. In the meantime, I'm cutting back on food a bit more. Here's my new discovery: a half a bologna sandwich, made with whole wheat bread with no transfat, and fat free bologna. And lots of mustard. It's 1 point.

My rugs look very nice, by the way. The furniture is supposed to be coming on Friday. (Which means we won't go out to dinner until after the UPS delivery, right? Of course right.)

And the V Vets are coming for the bicyles tomorrow. The tires are holding air. Who'd a thunk it?

It's so dreary and gray out all week, and today is no exception. K is still sleeping, of course; we have an errand or two to run later, but for now I may attempt a little reading. R sent us two books -- imagine that, one of our kids sent us a package -- by Bill Bryson, and I'm working on Made in America first. It's an account of how American English developed out of British English. I think; I'm not very far into it yet. I love this stuff, but I'm not sure about this book. Time will tell.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Nanny
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here