the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Watchword for Today Is: Boring 490

07.20.2004

8:21 pm

My day has been boring. My night last night, the one where I slept but thought I was awake the whole time, and actually was awake, sitting on the couch from 2:20 to 3:00, was also boring. Although I accomplished a variety of minor tasks by 10:00 am (because of course I woke up by 6:30, despite not sleeping), the rest of the day has been very bleaahh. And now tonight K is at work and the Hubs is giving a seminar in south Jersey, so I'm on my own for another couple of hours yet.

The most exciting -- okay, weird -- thing of the day is that Boo jumped up on the stove twice. I swear he has never jumped on the stove before in his 13 and a half years, although for all I know he dances on the stove all day while we're at work. I couldn't figure it out, until the second time, after a couple of minutes, I saw him reaching up towards the top of the refrigerator, next to the stove.

What had I put there? A bag of catnip, actually. Why did I buy catnip? In the misguided belief that I could somehow entice them to sleep in the little catbed I put in the hallway corner. As they say in French, quel idiot. We all know that there is nothing that can induce a cat to do what you want it to do unless it happens to be what the cat wants to do. So I hid the catnip on top of the fridge, where Boo sniffed it out immediately. What could I do now? Yes. I double ziploc-bagged it and put in the freezer. I'm afraid to put in the garbage until garbage day, lest every outside cat in the neighborhood come a-prowlin'.

So I've been telephone arguing with the Pottery Bahn about them forgetting to ship the second piece of furniture, with the coffee pot company about sending me the wrong parts, and with the health insurance about ... well, it's a day ending in y, which is the only reason I ever need to argue with the health insurance people. And I'm so bored that the only thing I want to do is eateateateateat. Thank heaven I've already eaten everything, so I'm done with that now.

Then I saw this at irisheyes70's site. Even my birth year is boring; hers is way more interesting than mine. (BTW, because I have an early January birthday, Ike was not the president when I was born. Harry Truman was. Also BTW, the kids in my town all swear by the local legend that Ron Jeremy went to our high school. This may be a local legend everywhere, for all I know, but I know he's not from here. The kids want to know exactly how I can be so sure about this. [I looked it up.])

In 1953 (the year you were born)
Dwight Eisenhower becomes president of the US

President Eisenhower announces that he has given France $60 million for the Indochina War

Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norkay reach the top of Mt. Everest

Julius and Ethel Rosenburg are executed by electrocution at Sing Sing

The Korean War ends in stalemate

The first color television sets go on sale for about $1,175

Ron Jeremy, Tony Blair, Pierce Brosnan, and Kim Basinger are born

New York Yankees win the World Series

Detroit Lions Win the NFL Champtionship

Montreal Canadiens win the Stanley Cup

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury is published

Elvis Presley records for the first time

68% of all United States television sets were tune in to I Love Lucy to watch Lucy give birth

What Happened the Year You Were Born?
More cool things for your blog at Blogthings

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Queer Eye
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here