the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Zero Hour 521

08.26.2004

7:04 pm

According to the flight tracker website, K's flight has just taken off.

.

.

.

I was really okay for about 98% of the day. Really. (Although I would like to know how tension causes the entire digestive tract to liquefy. Just wondering.) The Hubs went to the office, but came home around 10. I went out and got the kid a bagel with cream cheese and lox for breakfast. We got antsier and antsier, but not the Hubs, because he Does Not Know The Antsy. We left for the airport around 2.

Funny, when we took R to leave, also by British Airways, last September, it appeared that everyone else in the airport was going to India. It took forever to get past the crowded Air India lines, where all the women were wearing pretty saris and it looked like the entire country had come here on vacation and was going home. Today, no one was flying Air India, but everybody was going to Israel, including throngs of men with yarmulkes, women in long skirts and long sleeves, and long, long lines at the El Al counter, which was right next to British Airways.

Which was empty. No one was on line in front of us or behind us. Checking in took about a minute and half. Then came the hard part.

K decided to wander around the shops a little, get a soda and maybe a burger, before going through security. There was no earthly reason for us to follow her around like puppies while she did this. So, at about 3:10, we said good-bye. We hugged -- a lot -- and then etc. etc. and then we turned and left. I didn't even look back at her because I didn't want her to see my face. I swear, I almost cried out across the airport "But she's only a baaaaaabeeeeee!" (I did not.)

Home we came. I cleaned out one shelf of the refrigerator so far, but I'll get to the rest later. She text messaged a little while ago with a comment about her pilot, who had just walked by her, and I tried to text back, but I'm a text-spazz, so I called her and we talked for a minute. I told her that it looked like from the website that the flight was on time, and she agreed that no one had announced otherwise and she expected to board any minute. Good-bye again.

When she was 12, she flew out to Colorado to visit my cousin. Although an adult friend of mine was on the same flight, and was even sitting with her, it was still gut-wrenching to put the kid on the plane. I stood at the window by the gate -- you could do that then -- and watched until the plane was out of sight. Then I went to the car, called the Hubs on the cell and told him her flight had gotten off, sat in the car for ten minutes, crying, and then went to White Castle and ate about 6 cheeseburgers.

I'm not going anywhere tonight. I've got White Castles in the freezer, though.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here