the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Case Closed 522

08.27.2004

9:07 am

She's there.

(And lots and lots of thanks to anyone who's still reading my diary, being as it is the ranting of a completely insane woman. Wait til you see this one. And thanks for your comments, too.)

Anyway, after we came home from the airport, I was able to track her flights, thanks to the magic Internet, and saw that both of them were slightly delayed, nothing out of the ordinary, and had basically gone through fine. How, you might wonder, did I track both flights, when the first one was landing in the middle of our night, and the second one operating entirely in our wee hours? Ahem. I said, AHEM.

I literally slept for about a half hour, all night. I had decided not to take the ambien pill, and guess what? It turns out that I really am incapable of sleeping without it. I didn't even attempt to go to bed; I figured that if I slept, I could sleep in the couch, with the TV on. I dozed off about 11:30, and dozed on, as it were, a little after midnight. After that, I. Was. Up. I watched TV all night, and only got up from time to time for a quick nosh, or a potty stop, and checked the flights when I did that. Otherwise, I was lying on the couch, with a pillow and a blanket, and did not sleep. I am, apparantly, a freak.

As I began to see light through the windows and the Hubs was early rising, so that's a little after 5, I finally fell asleep, but had a creepy dream in which K called from Berlin and I couldn't hear her because I couldn't turn the volume down on the TV, and even if I went outside with the phone, I still heard it. I woke up, turned the TV off, and slept again for a little bit, so maybe a total of an hour and a half this morning? I actually got up at 7 and had a cup of coffee.

And she called at 8:15. She sounded wonderful! She said she was on about her tenth wind, was not only safe in the arms of the international program office, but had met a few other students from the program on her connecting flight to Berlin, so she hadn't had to find her way through the airport there and to the office on her own.

She's there, she's safe. I'm good. If only I weren't so tired.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Today Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here