the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

One Down, Thirty-Nine To Go 528

09.03.2004

9:20 pm

Now there's an attitude for you.

Today I had a whole lot of the usual first-day-nobody-remembers-last-year's-password-and-I-have-to-look-it-up crap, for which, apparantly, my father sent me to graduate school, but I digress. Minute by minute, it is not as terrible there as I make it out, it's just kind of on the big picture basis that it's hell on earth.

But hey, it's a three day weekend! Good times, good times.

The Hubs wandered in before and caught me watching and taping this week's episode of Degrassi, and said, "Wow, you really are a good mom," since it's a kids' soap opera from Canada that our own grown kids are addicted to, and I have to send it to K over there. I had to admit, to him and to myself, that they've gotten me hooked on the damn thing. I am chagrined.

Speaking of my Traveling Offspring (come on now, who remembers Fraggle Rock? Uncle Traveling Matt? That show rocked!), R has definitely changed her plans and is coming home September 21 instead of October 2, so I'm very very psyched on that one. The Hubs is teaching that night, so I'm going to the airport myself to get her, which shouldn't be a big deal. I'm not crazy about driving in the dark alone (I'm so spoiled by summer nights), but of course she'll be with me when I drive home, so it's all so very moot. Her flight gets in around 6:30 pm, and even though she won't get out of customs and all for at least an hour after that, I can still drive there in the waning daylight. The airport's not far, about a half hour, but of course all confusing with a zillion ramps and signs and exits. I'm so excited though that she's coming home! It's about damn time!

And I'm off!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Who Framed Roger Rabbit?
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here