the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Same Old Boring Crap 527

09.02.2004

7:32 pm

Yeah, back at work, falling asleep at 9, waking up at 4, working for assholes, yada yada yada.

This always sounds like a giant "yeah, duh" to me when I say it, but maybe it's true because it's just so fundamental: the kids are just nice kids. I don't think I dealt with one today, including a variety of hopelessly lost freshmen, who wasn't polite and pleasant.

Again, I have to wonder, and even try to remember, what my world was like before computers. The Internet went down at home this morning, causing me to fret over emailing the girls, reading diaries and so on (the router needed to be reset when I got home), and my day at school was consumed with the process of getting kids their usernames, figuring out why some people were denied Internet access, etc.

And may I say once more: god, I'm boring.

I'm contemplating a return to needlework of some kind. Even less exciting, perhaps, but still. It's a thing to do.

Someone at school came into a stash of Kerry bumper stickers over the summer, so she gave me three today, and I gave her some buttons. I'll get one on the car over the weekend. Really, can someone -- anyone -- find a smoking gun so that even Republicans can see what a lying sack of moron their cnadidate is? Would they even believe it? Why do people think that as long as he's not literally, sexually, screwing someone, then he's the moral standard of the universe?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here