the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Well, Well 534

09.13.2004

7:18 pm

She figured out that there's a stove there after all. I was waiting to see if her sister would have to find it for her next weekend. Yes, as of Thursday, both of my daughters will be in Berlin, at least for a few days. Why does Berlin sound so much scarier than Wales? (pause. pause. pause.) Oh wait, I remember now.

I've been thinking in lines from Friends lately. Just now, as I was starting to type, Ross said (for whatever reason, unimportant) "Wow, it's true, couples who live together really do start to look alike." Yesterday the Hubs and I went over to see his aunt and uncle, and you know, we rarely do go places at all, let alone together, and yesterday as we left the house I noticed that we were color-coordinated. Which would only be an amusing moment in time, except we've inadvertantly done that the last several times we've gone anywhere together. Which is all the more bizarre because the Hubs has a cousin (son of this same aunt and uncle) who's about our age, and he and his second wife, married maybe 15 years already, always wear matching outfits whenver they go anywhere. And they're joined at the freaking hip. Christmas time, they wear matching sweaters. At a family reunion a couple of years ago, they wore his and hers khakis, the same exact color blouse/shirt, and identical straw hats. Damn strange, if you ask me. But the Hubs and I, we seem to do this without thought, and then neither of us is willing to change when we're on our way out. Unintentional, I tell you.

As for the other Friends line, they "fixed" the air conditioning in the library over the weekend, which means it never goes off. The fan, the compressor, they are on, 24/7. So you could hang meat in there, let alone shelve books. When I walked in this morning, all I could think of was this Joey line that I heard on one of the zillion reruns I saw over the weekend: "It was so cold in there, my nipples could cut glass."

You're welcome.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here