the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

As If 538

09.17.2004

5:48 pm

Is there a cat alive who will actually sleep in any cat bed provided for that specific purpose?



I've been trapped in the house all day, first with the plumber in the morning and then with the tile guy all afternoon. The tile guy actually left the bathtub cleaner than he found it; i.e., he cleaned up the mess the plumbers left. I thought that was interesting. He was a very nice hippie-type kid who did a good job. And he's coming back in a few weeks to fix some loose grout, replace the caulk, and stuff like that. It's the little things, you know.

In other news, I'm seriously ready to switch to a pay-as-you-go cell phone, since I hardly ever use it, but to tell the truth, I'm a little put off by some of their websites (where I'd have to go to add minutes), since I'm clearly 30 years older than their target audiences, which means I'm unlikely to get from them what I need in a phone. Is that crazy? I don't know. The phone I've got now is supposedly on the best network (the one that starts with the big V), and I think the reception stinks. But maybe it's the phone I have. I'm looking at one from the big T company, but I really don't want to buy it and bring it home and find out that it doesn't get reception here, or at school. Yesterday I gave the cat groomer my cell phone number to call when Boo was ready, since I didn't know if I'd be home or not -- I was -- and the call didn't come through, although I got a voicemail notification 30 seconds later. That's not so great. And the phone from the T company is so cute and little. I'm thinking, I'm thinking.

I've got a million things to do tomorrow, including hitting the supermarket with list in hand of food that R likes to eat. Yay! Although where I got a kid whose favorite food is romaine hearts, I don't know. She will, however, enjoy a little prosciutto and Skippy Super-Chunk as well. Still waiting to see if she does dishes now, though. Wouldn't that be nice?

Have I mentioned my dilemma in filling out the customs forms on the little packages I'm sending to K? Last week I had to send her a bunch of tampons. The packages are delivered to the university office, not to her residence. Finally, I wrote "hygiene products", which I think was a little too close to the real thing to avoid embarrasment on her end. (The trick is to be accurate without being specific. When I'm sending a special treat, I don't want the customs label to give it away. Not that the tampons were a treat, but Halloween is coming up, and I already got her some peeps and pez.) Anyway, my next package needs to include a bra that had to be ordered in her size and didn't come in before she left. I'm going to write "clothing" on that one, but since I'm sending it in a small padded envelope, I guess someone's going to wonder what kind of clothing I fit into such a tiny package. (Not a padded bra, just a padded envelope. She is my kid, after all.)

And I have computer work to do over the weekend, which I am so avoiding. I either have to fix the aging Internet router or replace it, and download that whole service pack 2 thing, which scares me. I just know that as soon as it's installed my computer will die. Not that I haven't already picked out a new dream computer, but seriously, it is not in my immediate future, and if this one does die, then I'm getting another cheap one to replace it. But I don't want it to die. Hasslehasslehasslehasslehasslewhoneedsit?

And the bathroom again *sigh* of course, once the plumber's been back in the morning and finished getting all the parts attached, after the grout's dry on the tile. I don't know which is less appealing, the computer stuff or the bathroom. Oh wait, I do. It's the computer stuff. Man, I really have changed.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching MASH
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here