the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Chai Sisters Storm Berlin 537

09.16.2004

4:20 pm

They just called; R has arrived to spend a few days with K before coming home to the USA for good on Tuesday. When I got up this morning, she had sent me all her London to Berlin flight information in email, since she knew I would obsessively track her all day, and that since I have the day off, I'd appreciate it. My children are very kind to me that way, feeding my obsessions. (Yes, I remember my OCD mother. I didn't appreciate it. Shut up.)

I took the Mr. Boo to be groomed today, and he cried all the way there in the car. When I picked him up to put him in the carrier, he meowed loudly immediately; it was as if he was calling out to Q: "HELP! HELP ME! PLEASE!" She just looked both puzzled -- "Where the hell is she taking him?" -- and scared to death -- "Oh no, what if she comes for me next?" But her picture is on a "Banned for Life" at every groomer's in North Jersey (at least, I presume it is), because she both worms her way out of muzzles and bites strangers. Boo, on the other hand, once the groomer's brush came out, went all orgasmic and mushy and happy and when I came to pick him up, she threatened to keep him. Because he is a beautiful good boy. Okay, he's really a fussy little old man, but he sweets up real nice.

On the morrow, the plumber is coming at 8 a.m. to knock out one of the shower walls and replace all the pipes in there, to be followed in the afternoon by the tile guy to put the wall back together. Since my bathroom is roughly the size of a phone booth -- not really kidding there -- my task for this evening is to take out everything that isn't permanently attached so they all have room to work. This includes a six-foot high shelving unit, upon which rests all the stuff one would normally find in a bathroom linen closet, if only such an animal existed in this house. Towels, bandaids, hamper. Books. Odd mementos from my parents' bathroom, which the girls insisted we keep, like these incongrously elegant powder and mouthwash containers which didn't fit in there either, but they pre-date the girls' births, and so they wanted them, because they just seem to say "Grandma" all over. Okay, how did I wind up here?

It's sunny now -- it really hasn't been all day -- and the girls have called, so I think I'll drive over to the high school (because I'm that addled) and see if I can snap a picture of today's shambelizing of the building.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here