the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Don't Have a Title For This One 548

09.29.2004

5:56 pm

I just saw a commercial for Tiger Schulman karate in which they advertised a free uniform for your kid when you sign up. Let me see:
  1. dancing classes
  2. tee-ball
  3. baton twirling
  4. Daisies
  5. Brownies
  6. Junior Girl Scouts
  7. Cadette Girl Scouts
  8. Explorers (Boy Scouts)
  9. drama club - about 12 plays
  10. proms - six, I think
It's official. My kids never participated in a single thing that supplied the clothes/uniform/costume. Okay, maybe R got a hat for tee-ball. But that's it.

Not the best SCM day I've ever had. Yesterday he complained that his ear was all blocked up and he couldn't hear on one side -- yes, he did this AGAIN -- and when I looked amazed, he said "Oh, I guess you know what that's like." You think? I don't even know anymore what it's like to hear with two ears. And today he was all stuffy and sneezy and whiny about it all day until I got back from lunch and told him to go home. He didn't want to use up half a sick day; he just wanted to breathe all over us and in our faces and make us sick, too. He wouldn't answer the phone when it rang (so as not to spread germs) but he was hovering all around the Colleague in her office all day and driving her bonkers. (He finally did go home after lunch when he found out it was too late to count as a half-day, it was just a couple of hours early.) If she gets sick it messes up her seeing her grandchildren, so she's pissed off at him. And if he's out tomorrow, it means four orientation classes for me instead of two, and I'm damn sick of it already. Although I had two very sweet classes today that came in with an equally sweet brand new English teacher who looks like a twelve year old with five o'clock shadow.

During the last class I said something or other with a great deal of enthusiasm, and sort of strained my throat -- or so I thought -- but it's still a little sore and now my ears are starting to hurt. Damn. Too much crap going on the next two days, and I have five classes scheduled for Monday, along with a review of the library budget for next year before I have to submit it for final approval. Damn. I can't pin it all on him because there are so many sick folk at school, among the staff anyway, but damn. He totally didn't have to breathe right in my face.

In another completely disgusting aside, he felt the need to tell me shortly after arriving at school this morning about how he finds it SO difficult to sneeze while he's driving, because he has to hold on so tight to the wheel with both hands while his eyes close (as everyone's eyes close when they sneeze, or does this just happen to him?) and doesn't this happen to me, too, and I'm thinking "Dude. No. When I sneeze, I cover my nose, even in the car." I didn't say "Dude" but I did say the rest of it. No? Sneezes require the covering of the offending nasal orifi? (Or orifices, if you prefer.)

Since I'm randoming all over the place, I thought I'd include this picture, which I uploaded the other day for the entry I didn't post, and now I want to put it somewhere:



This is Grandma Ida (in the middle) surrounded by four of her seven sisters. This was a reunion; Aunt Sonia, second from the right, had just come from Russia to visit the others in the U.S., and they were seeing each other for the first time in 60 years, give or take. (60 years for Ida, more or less for the others, depending on when they had left Russia themselves.) Imagine that, not seeing your sisters for 60 years? Anyway, I was posting the picture to show the source of my mutant DNA, the molecule that makes me small. The tallest one, on the right, was Crazy Rose, who was a strapping five foot three, I think. Okay, follow along to the left now. Aunt Becky (whom I dearly loved) was the oldest, and was maybe four foot ten. Yes, a full grown adult with beautiful posture and a regal bearing (she was well over 80 in this picture) who was just that big, no more. No osteoporosis for these gals. (My mother must have gotten that somewhere else.) They were just SMALL. None of their three brothers was over five foot four either. Just goes to show, huh?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Spinal Tap
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here