the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Does Anybody Know What Time It Really Is? 547

09.28.2004

8:29 pm

I am so messed up on getting things done, time-wise. Here it is, 8:00, and I haven't even written today's entry yet. Honestly, for a grown person, R is taking up a lot of my free time. (Hmm, that didn't come out right. I'm totally not complaining. I am, however, still confused.)

Again, I know I shouldn't be complaining, what with all the bad and crazy weather everywhere, but New Jersey is so the humidity capital of the universe. And my high school is at the dead center of it all. Air Does.Not.Move in that building. It's a metaphor for something, I'm sure.

It's Freshman Library Orientation Week. This means that I am doing the same lesson with ten classes, Monday thru Friday. The SCM is doing likewise, and since we're both right there, we are also watching each other. So far I have told the same jokes four times, and I have heard him tell his same jokes three. I always feel so badly for the teachers who have to hear us again and again, but at least this year there's only one who has four ninth grade classes, and that's on Friday; with any luck, his wife will have the baby Thursday night and he'll miss it. It's deadly. The only good part is that I try to scare them straight, as it were, away from the lure of plagiarism by telling them how this makes the principal of the school totally INSANE. Heh heh heh, I don't tell them that SHE'S ALREADY INSANE ANYWAY! And plagiarism really does make smoke come out of her ears. She heard my routine last year -- I lay it on pretty thick -- and told me essentially to kick it up a notch, which I have done with impunity. Heh heh.

So now I'm watching the Gilmore Girls for the first time, and so far it doesn't make a lick of sense. Picking up a show in its fifth season, a questionable move. R is sitting here laughing at every other line and it's going past me like a screensaver.

I'm going to listen more closely. Tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here